Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2013
Arrived fairly quick and in top condition this show is fantastic wings at there peak a 2 hour show of adrenalin filled music and mccartneys voice is best it's ever been would recomend this to anybody
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Amazing footage of a great musician.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
It,s Here At Last The Full Concert In Fully Restored Blu-Ray HD . A Must Buy For Any Paul McCartney / Wings Fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
just sat. watched. and listened. This disc blew me away. Let me reassure any doubters out there. First the sound. Superb, put it through the normal stereo track ,big speakers and ampage 300 watts per channel. Believe. No sound problems. The picture. Yes its very grainy in places but hey this disc rocks. Now probably my favourite concert disc for repeated plays to come. Macca, Denny, Wings and everyone involved with this restoration work. Thank You!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
I saw this amazing remaster at the cinema,it's just a shame this Blu Ray release suffers from major drop outs in the audio soundrack,something that wasn't present on the cinema version.I emailed Eagle dvd about the audio problems,but they ignored the problem.It's a shame,as Rockshow is what i consider Mccartney at his best.

UPDATE - APRIL 10 2016

This is an update to the original review I did in 2013. Following some information I came across on the McCartney fans forum, I recently discovered that Eagle Rock video had now corrected the audio problems that plagued the first release,

I decided to take a chance and re order from Amazon, on the basis that it had been almost 3 years since my initial purchase, and I hoped the audio problems have been corrected,

So today I sat down to watch this new purchase, and I'm happy to report that the sound is perfect. . . and I'm so happy because Rockshow has to be Paul at his best, some would say that he peaked here, that is largely subjective, but what I will say is, his bass playing here is top notch and his vocal is like a powerhouse and now at last, the audio soundtrack has been corrected by Eagle Rock Video,

There is not much difference in the packaging to this Second edition, what I did notice though is that there is now a white box printed on the disc with a zero in it, and the cat/ref number on the spine of the blu Ray packaging is - ERBRD5189, that number is important because that shows the disc is a second edition with corrected audio,

To sum up then, Rockshow is a must for any fan because it shows Macca and wings at the top of their game an incredible concert that you must have in your collection,

Go buy it, turn the volume up and enjoy
review image review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 February 2016
ROCKSHOW:

The songs of Rockshow first appeared on the 1976 triple live album Wings Over America, which reach No. 1 on Billboard 200 chart. The footage of the 1976 American Tour was not assembled for three years, and was not released in cinemas until 1980. An edited version was released on Betamax in 1981. Finally, in 2013, the full-length version of Rockshow is finally available on blu ray and DVD.

VIDEO:

Rockshow is presented on blu ray, courtesy of Eagle Vision (an imprint of Eagle Rock Entertainment) and MPL (Paul's publishing entity), with a MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The entire concert was assembled from various sources, including the now demolished Seattle Kingdome. Without the high tech wizardry that regularly accompanies today's live concert video fare, things look at least decent, if not overwhelmingly fantastic. The entire video is rather soft. Some unfortunate lighting choices, including lots of red, rob the image of significant fine detail. But the concert is very well covered by 1970s' standards, and best of all, this was filmed in the pre-MTV era. (4/5)

AUDIO:

Rockshow features both a lossless DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 mix as well as an uncompressed LPCM 2.0 stereo track. There has been reportage that the backups for this concert were in fact prerecorded in a relatively early usage of playback technology. Whether or not that's actually the case, the bottom line is that you can barely hear many of the backups during many tunes. (Like the recent Super Bowl Half Time Show, pre-recorded backing and instrumental tracks were used, while the artists sang live – like singing karaoke) On the other hand, lead vocals here are crystal clear and brilliantly reproduced. The 5.1 track offers exceptional separation of the instruments and excellent low-end bass (no bass problem, as noted by many reviewers on earlier copies)(4.5/5)

CONCERT:

Rockshow features Wings with its original members: Paul McCartney (vocal, bass guitar), Linda McCartney (vocal, keyboard), Denny Laine (vocal, electric guitar), Jimmy McCulloch (acoustic guitar)(who sadly died in 1979 at age 26) and Joe English (drums). One source of pure pop excitement is that a string of hit singles by Wings, many No. 1s, were played with true enthusiasm, and the second source of excitement at that time was that it was the first time Paul sang the Beatles tune live after Beatles ceased live concert in 1966. (5/5)

Since Amazon.ca did not provide a track listing, I have compiled a detailed song listing (with chart position and year), which is as follows:

01 Venus and Mars Rock Show(12/1975)/Jet (7/1974)
02 Let Me Roll It (from Band On The Run, 1973)
03 Spirits Of Ancient Egypt (from Venus and Mars, 1975)
04 Medicine Jar (from Venus and Mars, 1975)
05 Maybe I’m Amazed (10/1977)
06 Call Me Back Again (from Venus and Mars, 1975)
07 Lady Madonna (4/1968)
08 The Long And Winding Road (1(2)/1970)
09 Live And Let Die (2/1973)
10 Picasso’s Last Words (from Band On The Run, 1973)
11 Richard Cory (from Wings Over America, 1976)
12 Bluebird (from Band On The Run, 1973)
13 I’ve Just Seen A Face (from Wings Over America, 1976)
14 Yesterday (1(4)/1965)
15 You Gave Me The Answer (b-side to Letting Go, 1975)
16 Magneto And Titanium Man (b-side to Venus and Mars Rock Show, 1975)
17 Go Now (from Wings Over America, 1976)(Moody Blues’ hit, performed by Denny Laine)
18 My Love (1(4)/1973)
19 Listen To What The Man Said (1/1975)
20 Let ‘Em In (3/1976)
21 Time To Hide (from Wings At The Speed Of Sound, 1976)
22 Silly Love Songs (1(5)/1976)
23 Beware My Love (b-side to Let ‘Em In, 1976)
24 Letting Go (39/1975)
25 Band On The Run (1/1974)
26 Hi Hi Hi (10/1972)
27 Soily (b-side to Maybe I’m Amazed, 1977)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

After 37 years and for the first time, the complete Rockshow is finally available, now even on high definition. The previously omitted songs, notably Blackbird, Call Me Back Again, Picasso’s Last Words, Lady Madonna, The Long And Winding Road, My Love and Richard Corey, are now included. Rockshow also captures the most commercially successful line-up of Wings at its peak, and is now both entertainment and historical document. MTV would begin its broadcasts in 1981, the year the film’s New Year premiere, and the ways in which it would affect the visual presentation of popular music had not yet been introduced. There is also a 34-page book, containing rare pictures and an excellent and detailed essay by Paul Gambaccini, the UK guru who was responsible for the many British Hit Singles books. This set is a must-own for all music fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Not only did Paul McCartney co found the biggest band on the planet in the 60's i.e. The Beatles....he went and did it AGAIN ! In the 70s with Wings. Rockshow is for me the absolute Peak of Wings, it was the best line up and Macca was at his absolute Best here. It is a terrific DVD, the energy is breathless, the Music Fabulous ! The Laser effect, though probably a bit dated now but was groundbreaking at the time, is still a visual delight today. They have done a wonderful job transferring this to Blu Ray, can not recommend it enough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Saw this fantastic concert at the cinema and couldn't wait to watch again at home. However I was very dissapointed as there is an error/fault with the sound, the base keeps dropping out. My brother experienced the same problem. We researched and this is a problem with several copies but not all. My brother e-mailed the production company but has not recieved a response. I wouldn't risk buying and pissibly wasting money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Rock Show is really alive,exciting and a colorful reminder of Wings flying at their height. The guitars are clear , the bass is fluid, the drums in tempo, the brass section in time and of course Paul in Tune , Turned On and thankfully Not Dropped Out. Buy this watch it in one sitting and relive this very entertaining evening from the 1970,s. You will not be disappointed in the quality and clarity of this remastered gem.
Paul Ramon
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)