Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2013
I saw Wings many a time live. From the inception at the Hammersmith Odeon, when all they played were mostly tracks from Wildlife and Red Rose Speedway to finally at the Rainbow with Back To The Egg, et al. This was filmed during their most commercial and successful period, circa 1976. At The Speed Of Sound was the current album during this tour and overall, as far as Wings albums went, not one of their best. However with songs like Beware My Love, even that album has some very good highlights. I do recall those days and watching the Blu-ray reminded me how Denny Laine was not just someone making up the numbers. He did write the occasional song but he certainly fronted the vocals on a few here, such as Spirits Of Ancient Egypt, Picasso's Last Words, Richard Cory, Go Now and Time To Hide. Denny also used to introduce various numbers and as McCartney followers these days will know, that apart from, whoops, thumbs up and "oh yeahs", he's not really a front man at all. During the Laine and McCulloch vocals, McCartney could have a breather and when Paul did sing, the Beatle numbers were limited to just five tunes. I actually preferred those days to now, as he's become essentially a "tribute" of himself. This is a great Blu-ray and one I've waited years for. I wouldn't rush to see Paul live these days I'm afraid to say.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
The music and performances on this disc are marvellous. Most of the time the picture quality is incredible although there are some dodgy moments to be fair. All in all, this release seems to be everything Macca fans were hoping for.
The sound on the Blu-ray disc is also fantastic. At least it is until the bass drops out of the mix for a few seconds (DTS 5.1 or PCM - it doesn't matter which one you choose). Then it happens again, and again, and again , and again........ You get the idea. It's hugely distracting at best and, for me, effectively ruins what would otherwise be an excellent and exciting film record of Wings in their heyday. Finding out through other websites and forums that this problem is affecting both DVD and Blu-ray versions, but NOT all copies is no comfort. This is an important release by most standards so it's a shame that quality control has apparently bitten the dust here. Despite the fault being widespread there's no comment from the manufacturer as yet but surely the affected discs should be recalled and replaced as quickly as possible?

I would have loved to have given this five stars and , without the soundtrack problems, I could easily have done so but it's hard to see past such a serious flaw.
1010 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
I am so glad to see this show on DVD, it brings back wonderful memories of my parents buying me it on video when I was a teen. The show is amazing, with Macca showing he is so much more than a Beatle. It also includes the musical talents of the late, great Jimmy McCulloch and the legend that is Denny Laine. Plus lots of beautiful footage of the much missed Linda McCartney. A must for any music fan but most definatly a must for Beatles fans...and you get to just wallow in the beauty that is Sir Paul McCartney for almost 2 glorious hours.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
I was never a massive fan either of Wings or of concert films, but I saw this on BBC4 a year or so ago and it totally blew me away. Such a superb live performance, especially from Jimmy McCulloch - and, of course, Sir Paul at the absolute peak of his awesome powers. I completely fell in love with the band, and am on my way to buying all of the deluxe edition album reissues!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
This concert is what you'd expect from Mr McCartney.The cleanup of the visual is great,the sound is great and so good to have it on Dvd at last.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Interesting to see/hear young Paul McCartney perform with wife Linda and Wings, many familiar songs.Paul McCartney showed his talent and was great, of course.I was also very impressed by Denny Laine, vocals,guitar &piano.A nostalgic journey, the quality (sound and picture) as expected not comparable to blu-rays of today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
This blu-ray arrives in Brasil today with the Lp. The image is fantastic but the sound is awful. The LP sounds fantastic. What's happens? I won't recomend and i can't return because i'm in other contry...

Update: the new copy arrived yesterday but it has the same problem... Now i give up... Very desapointed.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
What a pity. A lot of people had been looking forward to this for a long time. It looks great - or as good as it could be expected to look. When the sound is working, it sounds good - much rawer than previous versions, apparently without overdubs, or with the overdubs turned down.

The problem is the large number of bass dropouts/phase issues throughout, most evident to me in the 5.1 soundtrack. They are extremely obvious and, for me, ruin the film. If you're not using a sub-woofer, you might not notice them as much but they are there.

I was hoping that Eagle Rock would fix the problem and reissue the film but that doesn't seem to be happening. Totally unacceptable if not. Amazon customer service, on the other hand, was very helpful as usual and have refunded me.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
Fantastic dvd containg the best McCartney tour with Wings during the seventies. Great Paul!!! Great Wings!!!.
If you want to watch Macca during the seventies buy this dvd.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
Would give his 5 stars, but sound quality is abysmal. Bass drops in and out constantly, making disc unwatchable. Will be sending back and getting refund.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse