Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
44
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2016
I have heard Björk`s songs from radio and instantly liked the artist. This Greatest hits collection is very pleasing to my ear. Good stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Eerie, bizarre and haunting at times but then I suppose it would be because it's Bjork 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2006
If you are like me and have a strong respect for Bjork but have never felt compelled to buy all her records this serves as an excellent summary of her career´s finest works.
"All is full of love," with it´s low-key sensitive lyrics blends excellently with the strings and effects. It´s a nice opener. I love,"Hyperballad," this track really builds nicely at the end, whereras Bjork doesn´t change the pitch of her voice. Other highlights are the rangy strings on,"Bachelorettee," the pounding drum beat of,"Hunter," and the slickly worded pop of,"Bigtime sensuality."
Bjork has always angled between the alternative and euphoric pop, something that males her music very versatile. I really like the passion and force of her voice on,"play dead," I wouldn´t usually warm to songs like this,but it´s got something special. Bjork, both lyrically and stylisticly adds her only little twist to things that mark her out from her peers.
The music has a panoramic quality to it, Bjork´s tracks always sound intense and dramatic, sometimes the music can be a little over the top but she invariably hits the spot. A unique voice and well worthy of it´s five stars this.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2002
There's no doubt that Bjork is good to her dedicated fanbase, as the creation of this retrospective CD tells. Using her formidable web-site she let fans poll for one week as to what were their favourite singles from her four studio albums, from 1993's lovely "Debut" to 2001's amazing "Vespertine". Whilst the whole 'Greatest Hits' compilation idea is hardly original and has more than a whiff of cheap cash-in about it, Bjork at least gives the whole enterprise the kind of unique spin she's been giving pop music for the last nine years. As this lovingly packaged CD demonstrates ...
Fourteen of Bjork's nineteen cuts have made it to the tracklist here, alongside her new single, "It's In Our Hands". Tellingly missing however is her breakout hit "It's Oh So Quiet", her only single that reached the top 5 in the UK (albeit the only song that Bjork herself detests). However, purists will be pleased with the selection on offer here; the video version of "All Is Full Of Love" is used here, not the lesser album version, and the almighty Fluke remix of "Big Time Sensuality", as heard in the promo video, makes an indelible appearance. The rest of the songs are dutifully clipped from the albums in a fan-friendly, "no radio edits here!" vein. Though "All" polled in at number one with fans, runner-up "Hyperballad", "Pagan Poetry", "Isobel" and "Play Dead" are just as amazing.
But the happiest surprise is the new song, "It's In Our Hands", which confirms that, at 37 and after twenty-five years of creating music, Bjork isn't giving up anytime soon, which is music to all her fans' ears! And for those out there who would like to hear more from Bjork, check out the expensive-but-extensive "Family Tree" collection, which goes back to when Bjork was writing music at 15! And the drawings, which are individually numbered and based on each song, are cool too!
Well worth it!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2003
Bjork's greatest hits album is a fantastic collection of probably some of her most popular songs. The fact that 'Its Oh So Quiet' is not on there is because as a musician she doesn't want to be tied down to one song (especially seeing that it was a cover song) - which i believe some people may just buy this album to listen to. It has some classics on there such as 'Human Behaviour' 'Joga' 'Hyperballard' 'All is Full of Love' to mention just a few. For anyone not really brave enough to buy one of her albums this is a safe purchase and i assure you that you'd like most of the songs. Definately compliaments any CD collection - a must.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2003
It’s no mean feat, fusing eccentric musical experimentation with touches of standoffish Scandinavian girliness while still managing to appeal to the masses through a decade-long career. It’s rarer still that Björk, having done all this with what seems relative ease, hadn’t disappeared up her own arse and released a load of electronic wank and titled it ‘Greatest Hits’ just for the irony. As it stands, the tracks from the newly released Greatest Hits album were selected by a fan survey through her website, and so really do represent the People’s Choice.
The album comprises a selection of fifteen songs, spanning all four of the Icelandic singer’s studio albums. They are diverse enough to appeal to a variety of listeners; yet retain within them the distinct sound that the world has come to know as Björk Gudmundsdottir. Although the omission of material from Dancer in the Dark’s Selmasongs and Post’s ‘It’s Oh So Quiet’ are questions worth asking, there really isn’t much to complain about in terms of content.
A gorgeous remix of Homogenic’s ‘All is Full of Love’ opens the album in surprisingly gentle style, flowing onto early hits ‘Hyperballad’ and ‘Human Behaviour’ before hitting its stride in the sheer vocal drama of ‘Joga’ and the full-bodied lyrical marvel that is ‘Bachelorette’. ‘Pagan Poetry’, the beautifully obsessive centrepiece of 2001’s Vespertine, follows a sinister sounding ‘Army of Me’ and precedes the bouncy grooves of ‘Big Time Sensuality’.
The second half of the album loses a little momentum, perhaps caused by what is evidently a random track order that manages to lump together four or five sparse electronic tracks at the back. This having said, songs such as ‘Hidden Place’ and ‘Hunter’ do give an accurate presentation of the darker side of Björk that surfaced circa Homogenic, focusing more on sonic landscapes and atmosphere than traditional song structure. The placing of melodic bass-driven rarity ‘Play Dead’ near the end is a welcome change of pace for the album, closing finally with ‘It’s in Our Hands’, a previously unreleased electronic number that would have sat snugly on Vespertine.
It’s nearly impossible to pick out the highlights from an album compiled of highlights, and for anyone not yet introduced to Björk’s near-inhuman larynx and kooky Icelandic charm, the Greatest Hits album is a great place to start.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2004
For someone who has always been aware of Bjork, but never in the right frame of mind to enter into something so immensly intricate as her music: this has been the perfect way to get into her world.
It is pointless to list each track and how it effects me because emotional responses are highly personal and very boring, but I will say that 'Joga' never fails to put a covering of goosebumps on the back of my neck!
I recommend it heartily as a stepping stone to the rest of her work...just don't end your collection here!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2002
I'm a big fan of Bjork's, having heard them on the radio, at friend's houses etc over the years. I love her weird alien voice and singing style. The tunes themselves are beautiful pieces of experimental electronic wizardry, yet they are still poppy, accessible and easy on the ear.
I thought I better finally buy some of her stuff, but I didn't want to have to buy the whole back-catalogue. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this album covers all my favourite tunes of hers, including Army of Me, Hyperballad and Pagan Poetry, and there isn't a single duff song.
I was slightly disappointed the All Is Full of Love wasn't the version I remembered, but it's still fantastic.
This is a great album for chilling out - I love putting it on after a hard night's clubbing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2008
The singles from Björk's first four albums are collected here in the form of a Greatest Hits collection.

Not all of them are included however, one of the various omission (like it or not) is "It's Oh So Quiet" from Post as well as others. "All Is Full of Love" and "Big Time Sensuality" appear here remixed, presumably which is how they were when released as singles.

Includes a new track "It's in Our Hands" which sounds like an outtake from the wonderful Vespertine. A great start for Björk beginners or Greatest Hits compilation collectors.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)