Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2011
This is one of the very few comedy films which can be returned to again and again. I've lost count of the times I've watched (and totally enjoyed) this masterpiece. The late, great Zero Mostel, as shabby Broadway producer Max Biallystock, dominates every scene he appears in. This man was a natural comedy genius, perfect timing, hillariously visual - he had the lot. Having said that, his foil is the brilliant Gene Wilder, playing to perfection lonely Leo Blum, the neurotic accountant suckered in by Max to help realise his dream of making a million dollar flop. The film, despite winning Mel Brooks an Oscar for Best Screenplay was received lukewarmly, both by the critics and at the box-office. Since then however, its reputation has grown year upon year, with critics (who previously could not give it the time of day) queuing up to shower it with plaudits.
To hell with the fickle critics - enjoy this masterpiece, you won't find a funnier film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2004
Fantastic to finally get this on DVD. Having worn out two copies of the video of this firm I am happy to confirm that this film is 100% complete and contrary to other reviews has not been cut in any way.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2006
This was an incredibly daring first movie by Mel Brookes that so nearly never saw the light of day. One of THE great comedy movies, with Zero Mostel and Kenneth Mars turning in unforgettable performances. A film not diminished by time that still sparkles like diamond. Those who know it and love it have watched it countless times, there are of course and those who just don't get it...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
You must have seen this, or maybe the remake, but just in case you haven't, this is the original and the best. A corrupt theatre producer, a timid, dysfunctional accountant, a crazy Hitler Nazi loving, pigeon breeding playwright, a sure fire scam that backfires spectacularly and the most outrageous musical score ever! When I first watched this it was already an old movie but I went from open mouthed wonder to hysterical laughter in scene one. When the Springtime for Hitler scene began, I thought I was going to die laughing! OK, I was twelve but truly, I have watched it many times since and it always, always makes me laugh out loud. Zero Mostel is just perfect and Gene Wilder the perfect partner in this classic. I can't recommend it highly enough. If this were the only film Mel Brooks ever made he'd still be a genius in my book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
I haven't seen this film in years but remembered it was funny. Some years ago Barry Norman rated it as one of his favourites and when I saw it on Amazon at a bargain price I had to order it
And it's still a funny film. The plot is plausible, the script is well written and the casting is spot on
recommended viewing
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
This is the classic Mel Brooks film which was recently remade - but to get the gist of the genius you have to see the original. Two misfits in Max Bialystock (Zero Mostel in googly eyed glory) is a fading, poverty-struck director reduced to a con-artist role divesting old ladies of their cash. Leonard Bloom, Wilder's neurotic accountant, is sent to balance his books & the unlikely partnership set out to achieve the stage con of the decade.

Add in the deluded wannabe Nazi film writer, which in Brooks' NY Jewish humour is actually the sao being used for the con, and some absolutely cult scenes (the Hitler auditions & the opening night song routine of 'Springtime for Hitler' being the most obvious) and you've a slapstick story that is also oddly touching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2004
This is Mel Brooks at his very best and the long awaited DVD didn't disappoint either! Its the same film I loved as a kid and regardless of what other reviewers may have posted here ALL the original content has been included on the DVD as well as some viewing treats included as deleted scenes. Buy it now - you won't regret it!!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2007
The Producers is without a doubt a classic of 20th century cinema. It is born out of that moment of magic when forces come together to produce genius. Zero Mostel was probably the only person who could have brought the character of Max Bialystock to life and obviously reveled in the role. Gene wilder shows us here the comedy timing that made him a popular favourite through the seventies up to today and Mel Brookes who is a comedy god has only ever matched this quality once and that was with Blazing Saddles. I first saw this movie in 1979 when I was 11 and couldn't believe how much it made me laugh. I had no idea who Mostel, Wilder and Brookes were but I fell in love with it and have destroyed my VHS version through constant playing over the years. It still seems fresh and is a delight that can always bring a smile to my face. Try the Producers, you wont regret it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
Without doubt this film is a classic of its type and although I have seen it many times it never fails to amuse and impress. The Mel Brooks humour may well be seen as politically incorrect by some people these days, but to coin a popular phrase used by 'Mel himself: to those who do: Up yours! It's funny and clever and the type of film that sadly we see no longer. Excellent, I advise anyone in these sad times to purchase and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2013
This original 1968 version, written and directed by Mel Brooks, still makes me laugh 45 years later. The story is about an unscrupulous Broadway producer (Zero Mostel) duping old ladies into backing a production that is designed to be a failure; then all the backers lose their money, and the producers of the title clean up. At least that is the plan. He recruits a shy accountant (Gene Wilder) to fiddle the books, and buys a sure-fire disaster of a script from a Nazi fanatic, entitled `Springtime for Hitler.' They recruit a spaced-out lead actor to play Hitler, ( a wonderfully over the top Dick Shawn) and feel that they have guaranteed to put on the biggest flop in history. On opening night, it all goes wrong, when the crowd see the whole thing as satire, and begin to laugh. By the end of the show, it looks like becoming the biggest success in New York, and the producers have to think how they will deal with their multitude of backers. This film is a delight, from start to finish. Everyone acts their socks off, and the staged musical numbers are just brilliantly funny. If you have never seen it, give yourself a treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)