Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 July 2016
Important news
We notice that you have previously used Skype on your TV. This is an important service email about your Skype for TV app.
We’ve always strived to deliver a great calling experience from your TV —but over the years we’ve found that the way people access Skype in the living room has changed, with many now using their mobile or tablet devices.
To ensure we deliver the best experience on the platforms that the majority of people are using, we will no longer support Skype for TV — meaning that the TV app will no longer receive updates and will run with limited functionality — before being removed from devices in the future.
Functionalities currently affected are:
• Unable to sign in with a Microsoft Account
• No longer able to change your password on the TV
• Cannot answer incoming group calls
We’re sorry for any inconvenience this may cause. If you want to continue to enjoy full Skype functionality, you can download Skype for free on your laptop, tablet or your mobile.
We will contact you again in advance of the app being removed from your TV. For the latest information please check on our FAQ page.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
This is a tiny device, about 75mm wide by just over 25mm high. It is perched on top of or sits under the TV screen. It integrates with the TV without fuss only requiring your SKYPE identity to be entered from the handset.

My Son tells me that it does provide a good wide angle picture. WiFi connections can sometimes lose connection in the middle of a conversation which can be frustrating. With the TV wired to the router, as recommended by Sony, this device does provide a rock solid SKYPE link with good sound.

However it does not compare favourably with similar devices on other systems. Unlike the Xbox One it has no image tracking or zoom facility which should be provided on a device as expensive as this.

Unfortunately only a Sony camera will work with a Sony Bravia television so we are stuck with it. I was considering buying a Sony digital camera but being overcharged for this has rather soured my liking for Sony products.
22 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Its a camera with a microphone, it works well but because its Sony its overpriced and because the TV is Sony its configured not to work with any other (cheeper) USB camera
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
I am so glad that I bought this! It works and does its job perfectly... I am very pleased as only webcam which works for the sony tv I have... so recommend all to buy 😊👍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Excellent if one can overlook the rather exorbitant price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
This Sony labelled webcam is small, HD fitted, and it's microphone produces a good sound, as reported by skype contacts. It's a bit expensive but it is the only model that is supported on latest model Sony TV's so one does not have a lot of choice - in reality, none at all. It is a great performer though - you do get what you pay for here! The price pain soon wears off however and this 'plug and play' device will be found to be perfectly satisfactory. A zoom facility would be handy but sadly the excellent quality lens is fixed.
I should add that this Sony related device is typical of the company. From dongles, to cameras, to webcams et al: any add-on devices for Sony branded equipment usually has to also carry the Sony label. Equipment from this company (bless it(!) rarely supports add-ons from other sources for use in its own products.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
A lot of money for a camera with so few features. It is fixed focus, no zoom and very wide angle. We had to get up and sit close to the tv so we could be seen clearly. Very small device, but looked wrong perched on top of my nice new 50" screen. It draws your eye to it. I ended up hiding it behind the screen when watching tv. So decided that better off using Skype on tablet and this is not worth it. Sony Skype app could also be a lot better.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Not that we had any other choice apart form the old model, picture is ok but lens could really do with being wider in a small lounge, does the job though. It is really overpriced though... stop cashing in Sony!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Vastly overpriced, Sony are exploiting their technology as you cannot use any other brand of webcam. Why spoil the brand name by being so greedy?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 25 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)