Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
39
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.59


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2014
I watched Ben's documentary on Sky a few years back and it's always stuck with me - not least because I have an addict brother and watching/reading about Ben strikes many similar chords. I stumbled across this book by accident and couldn't not read it. I have sobbed throughout, at work during lunch, even on the train - I am sitting here with tears in my eyes as I type this review. Ben certainly got his story out there and my heart breaks for his mum and family. 5 stars, definitely worth a read and I really believe that everyone should watch the documentary to educate themselves, both young and old. I wish you all the very best for the future Mrs Rogers, you did your son proud :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Ben: Diary of a Heroin Addict is a truly shocking account of what addiction can do to the addict and their poor families who attempt to support them. After reading the book I looked up the video on YouTube and found it just as harrowing as Ann describes in this book. I loved the first hand accounts taken from the mini-movie in Ben's own words as this really added to the impact of the writing.

A very sad and humbling story that does exactly what Ben and Ann set out to do... educate people about the dangers of addiction, any kind of addiction.

A must read for anyone who takes or is even considering taking drugs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
This book, has had an effect on me in a way I did not expect.
The theme of the book and film is of course Ben's addictions, an illness that I too suffer from.
But what I shall take away from this is the ever powerful love that is shown by Ben, his late father , Ann and the rest of the family, truly inspiring
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Read this story of a boy mother and family a great read very true sad life of Ben on the drug street I cried at times reading this his mother and family should be praised as to the fight they have done to bring the drugs to light on young PEOPLE everybody should read this book I have read it and will broadcast it to parents as to what can happen to young kids GREAT read Billy shanks Belfast
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Very good but distressing read. Have watched the documentary which is available on YouTube and is a good watch. This is a very heart wrenching but true and all too common story and could save the lives of people thinking about dabbling in drugs. Would recommend to anybody.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Ann I am so glad I read this book + also the documentary people out there need to know more about heroin addicts life's on the inside as well as outside they only c a sad user but they never give a thought as to why that person has gotten into the mess they r in or what that person's family r going through. Respect for u Ann for being able to right down what you Ben + the rest of your family hav gone through. Rest In Peace Ben. Take care Ann . XXXX
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
I watched the DVD, it was hard to watch but it is a must see. Praise goes out to Ben for filming in his most private times and for Ann, who tirelessly spends her time following her beloved sons death,trying to educate the public and young people , about the affects of addiction, not only to the addict but also to the addicts family. I was very moved and emotional and cannot thank Ben and his family enough for allowing people to see the Dvd and the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
This book is well written by Anne, whose fight to get not only her son's story heard but the impact of what drugs can do. Being a drug worker myself I feel it is very integral that the effects/affects of drugs and alcohol should be taught/delivered in schools, especially now that there are so many legal highs readily available to youngsters. Although Bens story is about Heroin, it is stressed that of the other drugs and alcohol used that lead to a body that deteriorates. Well done Anne, my thoughts are with you and your family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Very good most interesting I read it it two days but I know Ben's sister so I had a interest in it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I watched Ben Diary of a Heroin Addict before reading the book. I some how feel a connection to the Rogers family. I am one of 5 with a very close and loving family, and 2 of brothers have had problems with addiction. I know I will always remember this story & hope one day I can help addicts overcome their demons. Amazing story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)