Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 17 April 2017
More visceral shield-wall mutilating from Uhtred. As usual, the Danes are planning a dastardly attack on the Saxons, only Uhtred manages to see through their schemes in time to save the day. There is a bit more a of a storyline this time though, and some sort of focus, which makes this installment more enjoyable than previous ones. We only needed to be told once, perhaps though, that Finan has good eyesight. If you like the Cornwell formula of an outcast hero who succeeds against the odds and has as many enemies among his friends, then you'll like this.

Other books you might like

An Angel's Alternative
Cold Steel on the Rocks
We Are Cold Steel
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
I am a great fan of Bernard Cornwell's novels, he manages to get a balance between spinning a great story whilst embedding it in a sound, tangible historical context. Some writers throw all the facts they have researched at their readers which slows down the narrative. Cornwell uses his research of history to give his plots and descriptions an historical verisimilitude. I love Uhtred, just as I loved Sharpe. I found this story particularly poignant and well written, the descriptions in the narrative were quite moving. I generally pace myself with these books as I don't want to gobble them all up but I couldn't help myself I've already moved on to the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Just loving this set of stories from Bernard Cornwell. The book came speedily and in a good condition. Storyline excellent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
The saga continues and is as equally enthralling. Great descriptions and very easy to follow Uhtred and his band of warriors as they continue their journeys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
I read this in a day and have been maki ng scrap quilts since! She describes the methods clearly, doesn't preach and it works! If you don't like random scraps look away!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Yet again a great read if you like this historical period from a master of historical story telling
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
Bernard Cornwell is very good at maintaining the tension and there is enough historical fact to make it an interesting read but it will always lack real suspense as we know that Uhtred appears in many sequels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2013
I'm a big fan of Bernard Cornwell's Saxon series (and his "Warlord Chronicles" series) and this latest instalment is possibly the best of the lot. Cornwell is a master of both plot and pace and, once you get past the middle of the book, it's impossible to put down. There's a feeling of authenticity about it, even though the author admits there's nothing more than the sketchiest of historical evidence about the battle at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
More of the same ripping yarns.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse