Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
Great value for money. The amount of great short stories in these volumes allowed me to explore different sci fi authors and the quality of most is very much to my liking. Definitely 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
As a Kindle app user (on a tablet), I have the advantage over purist Kindle (dedicated device) users in that i can peruse the range of alternative e-book-readers available. Whilst few are as good as the K-app, they mostly come with a bumper collection of free or public domain titles which you can peruse online and download at whim. From what I can tell, this is a selection culled from the public domain, someone else has taken the time and trouble to read through a whole lot of dross fiction to find the few really good pieces buried among them - so you won't have to, as the vogue saying goes.

But you can enjoy the ebenefit of someone else's search for the good stuff. This is all out-of-copyright (i.e. pre-1960s) stuff but there's some competent and even excellent writing skills on show. Any sci-fi buff will tell you the genre grew out of the sensationalist short-story era of the 1920s, and evoilved over time at attract firstly people with better ideas, and subsequently people with better writing skills, and this is a showcase of good ideas and good writing skills.

Amazing value for 30 pence plus vat. You won't find a John Varley, Bob Shaw or Gregory Benford story among these collections, but the stuff that's here is worth the read.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
I bought this Science Fiction Megapack from Amazon and I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Majority of these stories are well written, some are not, but the latter are in the minority. Some are cute, some are funny, and some are downright bizarre. A must have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Some of the stories are fine, some are just too long to be short stories and are really a bit boring to be honest, only reason I purchased really was the price. I have downloaded the others in the series but I haven't started them yet to be honest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Sci fi to me is not necessarily about the quality of the writing, but the exploration of ideas - although it certainly helps if the author can string a few decent sentences together. Most of the stories in this collection are pretty old, generally, though not exclusively, ranging from the 1950s to the 1970s, so some of the ideas have been overtaken by history (lots of stuff about Martians and Venusians). Having said that, many of them are entertaining and one or two are well written too. The most disappointing is the Sam Delaney novella. He is one of my favourite sci fi writers but the one in this collection just doesn't do it. Maybe it was an early work and he was still finding his voice. I wasn't disappointed by the Poul Anderson story. I've always found him dreadful and the one in this collection is down there with the rest. How he ever got published is beyond me. Overall, however, this is a decent enough collection and, at the price I paid, definitely worth it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Ideal for short journeys where you can read as little or as much as you want and still finish the story.basic scifi but very readable.somestories are bizarre
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Any long term science-fiction fan will have read at least some of these before, but as value for money, it's well worth to get them onto your kindle via this whole series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Takes me back to the days when I first started reading SciFi. Politically uncorrect now but in those enlightened days no such thing. Nothing meant. Also great escapist reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)