Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
32
3.9 out of 5 stars
The Girl From Nowhere [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 September 2013
I've seen several films of Brisseau but this mystic drama is his best (though I must admit that I liked L'ange noir - Black Angel, too). The movie's been shot actually in one place, the director's private flat, but it is beautiful to watch, the script and the dialogues are clear and meaningful. And in this one Brisseau succeeded to show and say much more without his traditional excessive use of explicit sex scenes (like in Secret Things or Exterminating Angels). The film won Golden Leopard in Locarno Film Festival in 2012 and deservedly so. Recommended.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Their is not much sex in this film but it is so realistic of the life of a lonely man who is blessed unexpectably by a beautiful woman appearing at his door.The casting is perfect and everything so sensitively and professionally portraid.I loved this film because it is so remminisent and hope of my own circumstanses which gives me something to fantasize about.
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Either you manage to enjoy the challenges that Jean-Claude Brisseau brings to the deepest corners of our minds, or you don`t. A old widower one day are visited by a young girl. She is wounded and homeless, and she represents a
light in the old retired math teachers lonely life, still missing his wife.
The girl turns out to be a real strange person, and the math teacher (played by Brisseau himself), finds out that
she is a worthy soul to try out his own philosophic ideas on. The girl is able to cope with his intellect in a way
that makes him more and more attracted to her company. In a way the old widower (Brisseau) starts getting ideas of
his wife coming back through this young girl. And start thinking of his own death, and the possibilities to return
to life in the same apartment, being compatible with the girl when it comes to age. His head start spinning, and
he plans to write a testament that will make it possible for the young girl to live in his apartment after his death. You better be ready for some scary scenes, and some brief nudity as well. But it`s the conversations between the
old man and the young girl that realy carries this unique film.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
I was left with the distinct feeling that the film is, in fact, the "essay" that the character Michel was writing in the film.
It is a study of human dreams, wishes, desires, fantasies... illusions.

Another reviewer complained that the cover art is misleading, and I cannot argue with that sentiment. The cover photo is taken from a short sequence of "visions". The film runs 1 hour, 31 minutes, the "vision" sequence which includes the cover photo lasts perhaps 45 seconds. On the other hand, film makers frequently use "striking images" from their film, as cover artwork. The example I have in mind is "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and the iconic image of Indy running from the huge stone ball.

That said, I do understand that the difference here is that this particular cover implies that the film involves a lot of nudity. Not so. Having looked at the cover, you have essentially seen the extent of the nudity in the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Very different French film, mysterious and fascinating. There are one or two scary moments and brief nudity, however it is mainly a slow burner with the story gradually unfolding. However, you may not get all the plot, but it still holds your interest.
4 stars
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Firstly, let me state that I am Teacher of French, a lover of french cinema and a Francophile in the extreme.

Every ponderous, self indulgent, has-no-real-point French film I adore. I heartily defend them all.

I hated this. The main male character, giving the benefit of the doubt, for the first half of the film felt uncertain. I could not work out if he was meant to come across as an aloof, anachronistic figure, ill at ease with the modern world, or whether the acting was just wooden and unconvincing. I was too kind. Wooden would have been a compliment. The whole thing was poorly executed and haltingly delivered. I have seen school productions delivered with more finesse.

Love French cinema with every atom of your being, but don't give this space in your head.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
A masterpiece from Brisseau - the best french movie in years! Encompassing however the whole history of cinema, and a touching tribute to John ford at the end. More, it is a film about our civilization, about being human, our love of beauty, and fear of death. A beautiful film, moving, funny, simple, yet complex, unpretentious, yet profound.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
I was really disappointed. Long pretentious ramblings about art and other esoteric topics. The actors were wooden and not authentic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
I loved this film I thought it had a good story to it . fantastically acted .
well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Of Brisseau's previous films, I enjoyed `Noce Blanche' and `Choses Secretes', and disliked `The Exterminating Angels'. Unfortunately this film has much more in common with `The Exterminating Angels' than with the other two. It has a strong element of surrealism, and lacks a worthwhile narrative. It is basically a prolonged series of conversations between two people, an elderly widower played by Brisseau himself and an attractive young woman who has paranormal powers and may in fact be a ghost. The film that this most reminded me of is Ken Russell's `Fall of the Louse of Usher': both are low-budget surrealistic films in which an ageing and overweight director, in the twilight of his career, saves money by casting himself as the male lead.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Eva Braun [DVD]
£5.99
Exterminating Angels [2007] [DVD]
£5.20

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)