Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£19.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2012
This is the type of music that divides opinion, just see the other 2 reviews here,and is difficult to analyze.
There are 2 of them, Holly who used to be in Angelica (a great band) and sings/plays guitar and David (sorry don't know his background) who sings/plays drums. But....they're not the White Stripes!!
Holly sings with a lovely Northern (English) accent and they release great videos, check out the one with John Shuttleworth which is a good indication of their style.
They're very DIY/Lo-Fi.
They rhyme Accordion with Brautigan with bourguignon with Scorpion with DeLorean.....sublime?
There are 19 tracks on the album and some don't work (especially when Holly gets shouty) but when they're good they're very good indeed.
"I like birds but I like other animals too" is rocky & catchy, "where's my animal", "if you were fruit" and "oh the stars " are much gentler/fragile but lovely songs.
"Baulk cushion" is one of the weirder ones but strangely compelling but "have you ever heard a digital accordian" is probably my favourite.
They won't be liked by those who want technical perfection but they have a naive beauty which is mostly adorable if you open your mind to it. It's shambolic and eccentric but is also like an enjoyable childish experience that a grown up can have when they occasionally "let go" and forget their inhibitions.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
WOWSERS! I downloaded the 'Have you ever heard the lovely eggs' EP a while back because I'd heard 'Have you ever heard a digital accordian' on 6music and thought it was suitably bonkers and required further investigation, i was not disappointed.

I received the album today and listened to it on my way home from work in the car and it placed a huge grin all over my face! If you remember the tango advert with the man with a big wobbly orange hand who rubs it in peoples faces, then this album feels exactly like that! I love it!

I doubt it's to everyone's taste because it is round the bend but i defy anyone to listen to it without cracking a smile!

If you've never heard the lovely eggs or a digital accordian or fought a deadly scorpion.......OH DEAR!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2016
Like most rock cognoscenti, I can't be doing with the clattering, sub-HM thrashfuzz you inevitably get when you dip a toe into the whistling waters of what passes for 'punk' music nowadays. It intrudes occasionally into 'If You Were Fruit' and it's misguided and lazy .. and compels an old punk like me to ponder what a slicing John McGeoch-style guitar sound would do to the likes of the lovely Lovely Eggs. Consequently (inevitably..), it's the gentler, folkier songs that work best on this album, allowing Holly Whatserface to actually be heard 'singing'. This is important.
An albums-worth of 'Lung Cafe' would almost certainly be annoying, but tempering it with some kind of fake take on Blood Tsunami is a mistake. If you YT 'punk' these days, you'll get a right nasty splash of dodgy-shorts and unlistenable, screaming American kids-stuff in your face. At least 'If You Were Fruit', albeit in a faux-twee way, addresses this.
As well as all this ~ for a tiny budgeted release, the production is outstanding, really deep and clear. And they look great, too !

All that typed - and these little things matter to an old punk like me - bits of 'If You Were Fruit' is silly - but sometimes, it's what you need. It's just the simplistically right mix of blah eccentricity, blah blah earthy working-classness, and blaaaah !! Northern perspective (see also 'eccentricity').
It gets better as it goes on; wittier, dafter, Cutlerier .. just kids messing about, but has more fun and worthwhile value than most of the slick-dude Futureheads/Maximo Park brigade could ever dream about. The spirit of Young Marble Giants' still-impressive 'Colossal Youth' is cheeringly evoked.
The standout is the 'Bohemian Rhapsody'-like 'Have You Ever Heard A Digital Accordion', which could've been a minor hit in a bigger, brighter world (Might've been, actually. Cant be bothered checking ..). The adorable 'Big Red Car' sounds like Suicide-on-Tetleys.

In trendy thinking (ie, already dated), rock-music-as-mother-earth terms, some of the folkier stuff on 'IYWF' wouldn't be out of place on 'Unhalfbricking' - how's that for a cross-reference ??
I'll go further: 4o-odd years ago, Lovely Eggs would be wheeled onto 'Wheeltappers & Shunters' for five minutes by Granada TV's Lefty, Weird New Band Dept (ie, Tony Wilson), - after they'd promised to be whimsical-not-punchy, of course. Granada would want 'Baulk Cushion', so the audience and Bernard could join in the chorus, but the prickly old Eggs would insist on 'O Death', and a tiny controversy would ensue.
Six weeks later, Charles Shaar Murray's caustic, defending-artists-against-vile-capitalism article in the NME would end with the stop-press news that Lovely Eggs were heading off as support on the Houghton Weavers' latest Pennines tour after a one-off gig with The Fall in Wigan.

While I'm at it, 'The Lancaster Musicians Co-op' (at least it's not a 'workshop' !) sounds like it's Billy Bragg-ist, outdated loony-left council-sponsored and terrifyingly worthy, but we'll let it slide. That they're supporting the Lovely Eggs - amidst all the white-guilt schemes for murderously high taxation and surrendering the country to ruthless, sex-frenzied, religious fundamentalists - is deserved cause for a small back-slap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
This album is as infectious as it is varied, capturing neatly a sweet punk edginess combined with an innocent nieve perspective on... stuff in general.
Tickling where it touches it constantly challenges your expectations as it fizzes and pops like drunk fireworks soaring off at angles; its twist and turns surprising as it entertains throughout on its jaunty, jangly, journey - one i have taken repeatedly since it burst into my life.
Fun.
Great fun.

:o)
xxx
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
I managed to lay hands on the US Import version of this CD of which only 500 were released in the UK, with 5 extra tracks. I have met the band, a more unassuming and modest duo you would look hard to find; but the songs on here are a mix of poignant, dry, cleverly witty, and just simply priceless. It is an acquired taste - and definitely a product of the North-west of England. They share a sense of humour with comic Jon Richardson who's also from Lancaster, as well as the sideways vision of the Mancunian maestro, Mark E Smith ! (Also, one of their later songs, Bring me her Head, appears to be named after a v. good local (Ipswich) band who supported them when I saw the Lovely Eggs live.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Since hearing them on 6music about a month ago I was totally hooked. not since the first time I heard arcade fire have I been so blown away by a band there simply brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
A refreshingly different album. Full of catchy melodies and quirky lyrics. I can't get enough of this band!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2017
Love the lovely eggs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Arrived in good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 October 2010
I don't quite know how I did it but I somehow got it into my head that I wanted to get this album. I think I must have heard part of a track and thought "Ooh, that sounds quirky". Quite often I buy an album that I know almost nothing about and end up being pleased with the results, I thought that might be the case this time. Sadly it wasn't.

There isn't a single redeeming feature about the "music" on this CD. No-body that appears on the album can sing and it's questionable to whether they can really play their instruments. Most of the time it sounds like they're having a go for the first time or simply kicking them down a steep hill.

The song writing isn't up to much either, if the songs were actually written. Again, it sounds like they sat in the studio, hit record and just "sang" the first thing that came to mind.

I'm sure this album must appeal to someone out there, I just can't imagine who. Deaf people maybe. Apart from them, maybe toddlers who are too young to understand any better. Avoid this album at all costs unless you happen to be driving towards it in a steamroller.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.47
£18.84

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)