Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2013
Saw PSB supporting the Manic Street Preachers at The Ritz, Manchester last week. Excellent musicianship and interesting sound, they also went down pretty well with a hardcore Manics crowd. I like this sort of stuff though, it reminds me of Stereolab crossed with Fluke. My wife hated it.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
I love this album. Indie guitar over that classic voiceover of the people who did the public service announcements.
Best track for me is Spitfire, the story of the world war two fighter plane over 3 minutes or so of spoken word and music.
On constantly in the car, please buy this album, I am sure it will not disappoint.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
This sampling under music has been done before by Colourbox, over 30 years ago.Try 'Just Give 'em Whiskey'. PSB are very good , but not unique.
Come to think of it, Colourbox would have got the idea from Byrne & Eno's 'My Life in the Bush of Ghosts' LP, which was groundbreaking,and MUCH more out there than PSB (or Colourbox).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I first got into PSB after hearing the Spitfire track on Soundcloud, I quickly snapped up the War Room EP, a five tracker based on WW II, a pretty big ask for an EP but War Room dealt with it with aplomb.

So, Inform, Educate, Entertain arrives with a lot of expectations. Does it meet these? Well, yes and no. Let me explain.

Taken individually there are some very strong tracks on this album, Lit Up and Everest really stand-out but there are no real weak tracks in there.

What doesn't work so well is that the tracks don't really work as a sequence, they hang on their own individually but as a complete listen they don't seem to sequence strongly.

The nearest comparison I can make is some photo books, Stephen Shore's American Surfaces for example, the shots need to be sampled as an entire sequence from start to finish, one does not simply gaze at one or two photos, the concept and intention can only be grasped by going from start to finish and absorbing the sequence.

This album tracks don't hang well together, they seem thrown in there at random.

I think, in hindsight, the concept behind War Room was much stronger as it showed a logical progression through the tracks and one felt as if the whole was something bigger than the parts. Not so with Inform, Educate, Entertain, the whole is the sum of the parts and one can't but help feel slightly cheated.

Good but I would recommend the War Room over this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
All their albums are entities unto theirselves - and whilst right now this is my least favourite (the Race to Space being #1) it's still one of my favourite albums to put on atm

What a great concept / and what a great band!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2016
I bought this together with Race for Space, and this is my favourite of the two albums. Both are exceptional works and if you have never listened to PSB buy this now! Very highly recommended, it is a polished work of musical art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
I love the idea, and it's well executed. That said there are limitations in using public service film soundtracks as your vocal line...but in this world of me-toos and soundalikes, Public Service Broadcasting offer something original and should be thanked for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
On paper, an album of electronically tinged indie-rock instrumental tracks with 1930s, 40s, and 50s samples sounds like it be more cerebral than emotional, but there's something about Inform Educate Entertain that gets under the skin. In other hands, the mostly male, Received Pronunciation samples that PSB use might be deployed ironically, or edited in ways that turn the words against their speakers; but here we're given what feel like generous portions, and nothing ostentatiously sneaky in the editing, so the whole work embodies a nostalgia for an era of 1930s-1950s idealism, national collective consciousness, and -- of course -- public service. Of course you can't help being aware that the power was being wielded by public-school- and grammar-school-educated white middle class men -- there are no regional accents here -- and that it wasn't a bed of roses, so the feeling isn't uncomplicated, but there is feeling here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Wonderful concept of mixing old and new and so expertly delivered.
Really drives along and although the topics are diverse they flow so well. I've listened to it 50+ times and have never tired (as I find I very often do with new bands do to their lack of vocal & music variety).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
The first album from Public Service Broadcasting is a stunning debut. The duo have been winning plaudits from numerous areas, I first became aware of them as the War Room EP was being played on BBC Radio 6 who have been championing their unique sound for many months. Having heard the tracks I then got to see them live which if anything exceed expectations. All too often in this day & age the sound you hear in recorded format bears no comparison to the 'real thing'. Not so in this case and I strongly urge anyone who likes the duo to catch them at one of their gigs over the next couple of months, although be aware that tickets are selling out fast.

So, what to expect? Public Service Broadcasting seem to have carved their own niche in creating a new genre of music. Suggestions on what to call this genre would be gratefully received, as although they have similarities to other bands they seem to be making this method of sampling old information films & the like with a mix of musical styles their very own. How to define their music seems to be another issue as they seamlessly move from melancholic banjo plucking to electric guitar with a driving drum beat. All seems apt for the subject matter at hand and you are left wondering why no-one has come up with this splendid idea before.

I'm not going to pass comment on individual tracks as they are uniformly strong with no weak links. If you have doubts then go and listen to some tracks in their entirety on YouTube or the like, but do come back and buy the album. Remember, the more we buy their output the more likely it is that this extraordinary duo will continue to produce their amazing work. The music press seems to like them too with what seems to be a wholly positive response to this album.

As the title says, I just wish I could give this 6 stars at it is the most wonderful, unique and fun album of recent years.
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)