Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2014
Interesting story, albeit a little disturbing but I already knew it would be before I read it. I found the story to be a little bit bland, there was no spice to it. It was just that... a story. I liked the interaction between the main characters and liked the fact that this was about actual werewolves rather than shifters.
Would recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I did like this book but I was unsure on what rating I thought was best. I'm going with 3/3.5 because while I found it fairly enjoyable this was not all I hoped it would be and that is a shame.

Firstly I did like the premise. I'm a sucker for a touch of the forbidden and for anything paranormal so this seemed to tick all the boxes. The problem was how rushed this felt, particularly at the end. The fast pace meant there was little authentic development of Rose and Tom's relationship. I did think that some of their interactions were working but in general it seemed like they just tumbled hastily into being a couple and it made it seem like this was all just a set up for things to come when there was potential for this to be a more engaging read in itself.

I also found myself disappointed with Rose as a character. She seemed perfect in the beginning. She was independent, witty and mature...all things that made her perfect for what I thought an alpha girl would be and for catching the attention of an older man. However as things went on she seemed to lose these things and she became more petulant and needy and I found myself losing respect for her. I really wish she'd stayed the strong character that fit the plot so much better. Overall this felt very YA (excluding the sexual content and language) because of Roses personality, despite it being specifically labelled otherwise.

Because of all that I'm still uncertain whether I'll be continuing with this series. I'm intrigued to know what happens next for the couple, but I'm reluctant to be left wanting more again. I recommend that anyone considering purchasing this think about if this stuff will bother them. As it was, I was able to finish without forcing myself...you'll have to make a judgement call with this one!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Alpha Girl starts with Rose, the teen struggling with her place in life narrating the story. Your instantly pulled into her unhappy world and start to form a relationship built more out of pity with this poor tormented school girl.

A taboo relationship between Rose and her English teacher begins to blossom and although your fully aware that this relationship has only one ending that been one of doom you find yourself willing them together.

The time scale of the story is cleverly show as each chapter is a countdown to the next full moon. Hated by everybody and persecuted by her peers you begin to realize that all is not what it seem with Rose as she suffers an episode of “sickness” that follows a strict 21 day cycle.

The relationship between Rose and her teacher is written beautifully, the author builds up the sexual tension between the two, ensuring that Roses age and inexperience is not forgotten but also allowing her dark wild animalistic side to show through the more she relents to her natural instinct.

I was instantly pulled into this story and found it hard to put down once I had started, the author keeps you interested with the many twists and turns and then hits you with a twist at the end. Alpha Girl for me was an enjoyable take on the much loved Werewolf tales and a definite must read.

5 starts from me Kate and I look forward to read more of your work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Shouty capitals put in for a reason This is an excellent book and one I can't wait to read the next one in the series.
There are some great twists to it.
Do buy and read this book as it is awesome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
It seemed a good book to start with until the teacher became involved then, from time to time during reading it made me feel that i shouldnt be reading it, it felt like the teacher was grooming rose, i became so upset by the book i put it aside for weeks on end before picking it up again, i feel this story could have been written better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
It's so wrong. It's so wrong and so illicit, but trust me; you're not going to care. Rose is amazing. She's an alpha girl, ponder the title, because she's not going to stop until she gets what she wants. The only problem is, what she wants is just a little bit illegal.

Loved it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Enjoyed this as a change to my normal reading material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
This was a amazingly emotional book that had me gripped from the start ! It was so different from thd normal story line of a warewolf book , but I really enjoyed and wood recommend it to any warewolf lover xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
this is awesome I really can't wait for the one. :) please read it. once I started I really couldn't stop!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Easy reading. Fun book. some points couldn't put it down, just had to see what was going to happen next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse