Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2017
Ive got quite a few problems to solve so it will be well thumbed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Very good book if you have come to a standstill in researching your family history. Excellent tips on how to overcome obstacles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
I think the author strained to make this into a whole book. The last few summary pages inside pretty much could've been presented as THE book, as they say all he wanted to say.

However, it was clear to understand and it was written by someone who obviously understands his field.

I think someone starting out could learn a lot. Unfortunately, those of us that have got far enough to find brick walls are less likely to be beginners.

Not bad. Just nothing new for anyone who's been doing genealogy for a year or more.

Edit: typos
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
The ever increasing popularity of family history research has led to a plethora of genealogy books hitting the market and it seems that every publisher wants to get in on the act. Unfortunately, quantity does not always equal quality and this book gives the impression of being hastily written to target a lucrative audience.

The title is slightly misleading as this is in fact an overview of the sources available to those conducting family history research. Beginners will no doubt learn a thing or two, but intermediate researchers will find little that is new to them and those seeking strategies to overcome a 'brick wall' will be disappointed. The advice is vague and general with few examples of how a particular source or technique can be used to overcome a particular problem.

Pauline M. Litton's 'Pitfalls and Possibilities in Family History Research' covers a similar topic much better and is packed with useful information in comparison to this flimsy volume.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
I stumbled upon this in my local Waterstones (apologies Amazon) and started to read it while killing some time. I was immediately struck by the clarity of the advice given. It is not a vast tome and is by no means intended to be exhaustive in its breadth of coverage. What it does is go through the various sources and explain how to make the best use of them, what to look out for, what the various pitfalls are and what problems can arise. For an experienced researcher some of these might appear obvious but I for one found many nuggets of information which, despite my having looked at countless BMD and census records over the years, simply hadn't occurred to me before. Just how many "brick walls" I will be able to break through armed with these hints and tips only time will tell, but it has certainly given me renewed impetus in my family history research. I would recommend it to anyone who is struggling to make headway with their genealogical research.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
An enormous book packed with useful ideas for searching your family tree. If its not in here - you don't need it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Excellent. Very clearly written; comprehensive; just what I needed as a relative newcomer (forgive the pun). Don't hesitate; buy it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
The structure of the book made for an interesting and enjoyable read . Well done, just what I needed at this stage of my research.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Fabulous insight into problems when tracing family trees, very useful and unexpected lines of enquiry to follow. A great buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Some excellent ideas for getting past that wall and achieving your goals. Now I just need to time to put things in motion!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)