Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2017
Informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
Having read and studied many screenwriting books, I rate this book as one of the best and a complete steal at it's current price. From novice to professional, this book is an absolute must read for anyone wanting to take their writing skills to another level!

Jam packed with everything you need to know to write a great screenplay, I found this especially helpful for the U.K/European market.

An additional BONUS is all the professional contact links inside...If you are NOT a professional screenwriter already, you will definitely feel like one once you have finished reading this book!
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
This book's clear, concise advice is an inspiration. The author's can-do attitude makes the reader confident that they can give their script the best possible chance of getting into production.

The layout is really helpful -- the information is presented in bitesize pieces, with headings and sub heads, so it's easy to find a particular detail when you refer to the book again. This must have been hard work to edit though, and a few typos and mis-formats have crept in.

I really appreciated the book's signposts to other resources -- there's so much out there that it can feel like a jungle, so any pointers are welcome.

This is an excellent book for a beginner; and it would probably have some helpful points to inspire a more experienced writer, too.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
Linda James has the knack of making difficult projects (like writing a play for TV) seem perfectly simple and straight forward. She obviously knows her subject well and can write clear concise guidelines for the novice playwright to follow. If you can paint-by-numbers you can follow Linda's instructions. The story and the talent to create a great play have to come from yourself, but Linda's blueprint for turning your baby into an exciting script that might catch the eye of a production team are all contained in the pages of this super book. A few pounds invested in this superb guide to writing screenplays could be the turning point in the fortunes of a budding screenwriter. Add to that her immence enthusiasm which literally bursts from the pages. If playwriting for film or television is your ambition, with Linda's guidance and your talent you can hardly fail.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an excellent and detailed guide for both aspiring and experienced writers and producers. Moving step by step approach through the writing process with clarity and precise examples from the essentials of preparation to delivery helps to clarify the writing process and eliminate simple pitfalls. First person examples from Linda James own writing keep the text fresh avoiding the trap of many guides to screen writing which make esoteric references to films which are personal favourites. This makes for an ideal text for those ambitious enough to want to write a screenplay from simple self belief without first having undergone an academic media course. But not to underestimate the value of this guide reference should be made to the excellent section on marketing and selling your script with a valuable list of sources of funding. All ways round this guide covers the ground in a straightforward and comprehensive way which offers great support for all screenwriters in the UK.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
The Author, Linda M James, has produced an excellent guide for both novice and experienced writer who wishes to break into the world of screenplay writing. Her concise, informative book is a step-by-step guide to writing a great screenplay. It has incredibly useful chapters on how to write powerful loglines, compelling scenes, what to leave out of scenes and examples of how to write in different genres. [Which I found particularly useful.] This book is full of wonderful tips and is obviously based on painstaking research and long experience.

Her erudite knowledge of both US and UK styles, the enormous database of websites, addresses and contact details of agents and film studios makes this book essential for all screenwriters. I fully recommend it as it will galvanize anyone into writing a brilliant film script! It is also good value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
Found this book to give very good advice for someone writing their first screenplay. Not finished reading yet so can't review the part on getting them into production but so far so good!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2009
I am always a little cautious when buying screenwriting guides as most seem to be full on over-complex and confusing information. Linda James' book, however, was one I found to be wonderfully concise, easy to follow and very heartening, especially as I am an aspiring scriptwriter, and the path from writing to selling your script is pretty daunting.

The Chapter 'Techniques to make your script stand out' was especially useful to me, including information on 'foreshadowing' and 'subtext' - critical areas that are often overlooked in similar guides. It's a very positive, encouraging book as well, which has given me the impetuous and ideas to write my first screenplay, confident that her suggestions and techniques will work. It is good to see that the author has her own screenplay in production, so clearly she is on the right track!

Finally, the last section on copyrighting and selling your script is invaluable, providing information on funding, production contacts, who to try to sell to and most importantly, I think, a sample option agreement as it is vital to know and understand the business side of writing, which is half the battle in getting your script sold.

Money well spent - I highly recommend this book. It's concise, easy to assimilate and proactive, and I feel any screenwriter at the start of their career will find this manual invaluable.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
I would strongly recommend this book for anyone wanting a thorough grounding in writing a screenplay. Linda James' book is both concise and easy to read and gives plenty of technical details for any aspiring writer. The information given is relevant and up to date and clearly laid out. The author has packed an amazing amount of information in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
I've read a few screen writing manuals in my time, and this one is very straight forward and fluid. It takes you through step by step and is very easy to follow and flows well. Unlike many other screenwriting books, it provides a lot of straight forward information about writing a treatment, synopsis and advice on how to get the screenplay read. The manual also has a good list of contacts regarding festivals, film funding and other associations that can help the budding screenwriter.

I would recommend it for anyone starting out and anyone struggling to get their scripts read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)