Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2017
Helpful book. Great service. Arrived promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
The enormous amount of historical data and records now available online have changed the approach and rapidly reduced the amount of time and cost required to research your family tree.

Some family history research books now seem quite dated and don't reflect the latest techniques available. Other books about online research seem to be simple directories of relevant websites. Family tree programs often include manuals on how to use the program, but not how to do the research itself.

I found this book very easy to read and well presented. It walked through the process of how to use the various online databases to build your tree. Not everything can be done online of course, and the book explained where to draw the line. To me this would be a good, straightforward introductory book ideal as a gift (or for yourself) for someone about to start on their research.

Specifically appropriate for UK readers, although references to other countries records is included.
0Comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
I have only just started reading this book but it looks so interesting. I shall take each chapter at a time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
As described. Arrived promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
I got this for my mother as she is doing our family tree she says it was helpful, we hit alot of brick walls and have exhusted everyother root, this lays things out clearly and give you new ways to approach trying to find missing relatives.
Mum was happy with it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
This is a very useful book. perfect for Family Historians who primarily use the internet for their research. I would thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Excellent service. Excellent book, very readable with appropriate help and advice. Would highly recommend to any one starting to undertake searching their family tree online.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
If you're setting out to research your family then you will need to know your way around the internet and this book is a good place to start. It covers many subjects that you may not have considered and for the price it is worth having on the book shelf.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
This book demonstrates how the internet has transformed family history from the preserve of learned genealogists to one of the world's most popular amateur hobbies. No more draughty churchyards or dusty records offices, it shows you where to look at the click of a mouse from the comfort of your living room.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
I am tracing my family tree and this book helps me with websites that have info. Living in Scotland it is hard to get information without going to Register House, so any help I can get is great. I haven't read it all but as a reference book its great, thank you
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)