Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 July 2013
Delivered promptly, ideal product. Colour is better than tube style low energy. instant on. Would be happy to recommend this builbs. Will get more
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
This is the first LED bulb that I've bought, and it totally lives up the hype. In replacing a candle CFL it not only provides a whiter and brighter light but IT ACTUALLY TURNS ON WHEN YOU FLIP THE SWITCH.

LEDs give quite a harsh light, and this one really is, but for me it's great because it's behind a frosted glass panel.

You won't want this style of LED in your home if the stick itself isn't shielded or scatter in some way. If it's going in a fixture that has frosted glass for instance, it's great!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Construction is solid and neat. The safety cover looks a good quality acrylic, not glass.
A compact light that shines evenly in all directions. 4LEDs point outwards from the end. The light is white, not yellow, not blue.
7W produces 500 lumens, about as much as a 45W incandescent.
I have a lot of experience of fluorescent economy light bulbs, some work Ok as expected, some have burned out quickly. Some take up to 30 mins to get to full brightness.
My experience of LED lights so far has been excellent.
As their price reduces they will become the only way to go.
More brightness for the money would produce another star.

2014 Caveat!
If bulb is mounted horizontally or downwards, they seem to fail early.
Mount facing up and the heat exits the holes in the cover.
Mount facing down, and the heat has nowhere to go.
Alternatively, pull off cover and cross-drill 4 holes near lower end.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This is a solid and well constructed bulb. The corn design means it is also very compact and gives an even spread of light. This bulb is rated as 500 lumens which for most of us doesn't mean much, but the output is very similar to an old 40w GLS bulb. There is a good conversion table available at: [...]
The reason for only giving 4 stars is that the light is very similar to my old Philips Genie 8w CFL bulb, which cost half the price. Granted the Philips bulb had a second or two delay when switching on, (the corn bulb is instant), but it will take a long time to recover the extra cost by only saving 1 watt.
Update - it is now June 2014 and the bulb blew after just 5 months, so have downgraded to 2 stars as clearly the cost will not be recovered!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Looks good, works well and gives all round light from a smallish unit with instant switch on for an OK price and very low power usage. Time will tell if it lasts as well as specified but so far I am very happy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
The light seems well built and does the job well. Not cheap but should save cash in the long run.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
i bought a load of these and fiona at 'led lights for less' is really helpful. they offer a bright clear light (for a while). however the bulbs are crap; i've had innumerable replacements (at least 5, probably more and i'm in possession of three more failures i haven't 'claimed' on) and they keep failing. the circuitry collapses inside the bulb due to over heating (which in itself is a concern), but you expect to be able to have them turned on for long periods of time. the cost of the bulb and the failure rate don't make them an energy/cost saving option at all. i won't be buying anymore, have to try another brand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
It does what is says in description. Very bright, uses only 8 w and produces a light equal to 60 w. Definitely recommended. I don't know what is life expectancy for this product
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Used to replace a 42w Halogen in our porch. Excellent light output.

Note that it needs to be used with a diffuser as the LEDs are very bright to look at.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I bought x2 of these 3 months ago for my bathroom, both have failed.
I do not like to write bad reviews but buyer beware.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)