Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
4.2 out of 5 stars
Monomania
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 June 2013
The first time I encountered Deerhunter was when I heard 'Revival' being played on a 6 Music a couple of years ago. It was one of those great moments when the hairs on the back of my neck prickled to attention and I immediately fell in love with the song. So much so that I bought Halcyon Digest which I enjoyed but I still feel that it has a few weak tracks on it. Whilst 'Monomania' has a fine collection of songs on it there have been no standout 'hair prickling' moments but overall I think I prefer it to Halcyon Digest. The whole album staggers along in a pleasingly semi-drunk fashion..creating a dreamy, discordant jangled soundscape that in the words of Alan Partridge is 'pleasing to mine ears!'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
One thing is for sure, this album is one hell of a grower. After your first listen, you might find the production and Bradford Cox's vocals a little too scratchy... I certainly did, but subsequent listens have pushed this album up to album of the year territory for 2013. A fantastic record...x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Whilst 'Halcyon Digest' was a work of utter brilliance and beauty that worked as a fantastic entity in itself on initial hearings the new album 'Monomania' is a bit of a sprawling mess to be frank. I have all the Deerhunter albums and most of the Atlas Sound stuff so am extremely familiar with the work of Mr Bradford Cox and when certainly 'Halcyon Digest' was one of my albums of that year this one is so far a big disappointment in comparison. Apparently Bradford Cox had a huge amount of songs for this new album and ditched lots, maybe it was the wrong ones? I hope to be proven possibly wrong in my thoughts towards this album in the future but at the moment I will not be rushing to listen to it again in any hurry. Sad but true.
55 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Not quite as good in my opinion as either Microcastle or Halcyon Digest. At its best when it's at it's most urgent, it has enough hooks to keep me happy.
Bit annoyed they cancelled the nov 13 UK gigs though......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Given the storey behind the album, you would think it would be angry and hate filled. But no, its just generally chilled and trippy. Somewhat reminiscent of BRMC back in the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Another really strong album from the Cox stable. Psychedelic, poppy playful. A must buy.Looking forward to a Atlas Sound record now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
In recent years, Deerhunter have shied away from noise in favour of the sort of inconspicuous indie that casual outsiders just don't get. They view the subtle, shambling vibe as nought save aural wallpaper, yet to plenty of others those same shuffling chords are outright manna. The opening one-two on sixth LP Monomania - a welcome return to the band's punkier roots - is sure to ruffle a few feathers with both groups then. The echo-y opener, "Neon Junkyard", tackles the sound by way of dreamy 60s strumming and its gloriously messy follow-up screeches its way through some fun-time garage.

This signature blend of brash noise and killer melody is elsewhere less demanding, rearing its head really only via the out-of-focus distortion which permeates the album as a whole and, more prominently perhaps, on the grimy title track during which Bradford Cox`s vocal repeats sting with intensity. It's this light toasting in production that ultimately differentiates Monomania from 2010's cleaner Halcyon Digest LP, but, the odd track apart, the band haven't taken huge sonic strides from one to the other.

Monomania has a warmly reminiscent middle order therefore, which when it hasn't gone all minimal and reverb-heavy like eels in rock mode (see the sad and lovely "Blue Agent" and "T.H.M.") is full of ramshackle indie gems akin to those on which its beautiful predecessor was built. Supposedly there's some synth play at work during the likes of "Dream Captain" and "The Missing" too, but the hypnotic web that Cox and company weave is pleasantly dense to render it - in critical terms - unobtrusive in the mix.

When you've got a template that works, you're often best to roughly stick to it. Deerhunter have a deft one and it always lands a product more than the sum of its parts. Painstaking description of its construct often seems flippant and/or ignorant. So, in the face of such a thankless task, perhaps we better peg Monomania as somehow subliminally sublime and leave it at that so as not to be further incriminated.

Advised downloads: "T.H.M." and "Monomania".
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I thought it was a real grower but each new play it just keeps getting better and better with each new play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Amazing album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)