Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
90
4.6 out of 5 stars
Overgrown
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 14 July 2013
If you loved James Blake's previous releases then you will enjoy this continuation of his haunting melodies and fractured songs creating an atmosphere of longing and passion. I'd heartily recommend this album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
An angelic voice? Melancholic, fragile, sad, beautiful? Maybe, but no words can describe how affecting this music is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Unlike his eponymous album James Blake, the young producer creates a perfect, creative album.

It seems as if he has found a way of incorporating bass driven influences to his soulful voice in a way that allows for each song to flow to the next.

Although I actually have less favourites from this album to his first, this album works as a whole much better.

Overgrown, I am Sold, Retrograde, Digital Lion, To The Last..

Just incredible.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
Haunting, ethereal electronic sounds with Blake's intensity soon had me drawn in and hooked. Easy to lose yourself in this album, highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
yes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
For me his best work, the music is really nice, I'm courious to listen the same music without the voice it would be a really nice electronic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Excellent service and great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
It came much earlier than it was meant to and has some great songs on it, very happy with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Having been a fan of James Blake since a few years ago, I've listened to all of his albums and EPs. His first and self titled album was incredible; quite the soundtrack to 2011; mysterious, satisfying, relaxed. Second album in my opinion was less accessible, a little disappointing (or perhaps challenging), focusing less on the mysterious, harmonic melodies that I was used to.
Overgrown sees James Blake return to his former glory; perhaps even more accessible and enjoyable than his first album. Every track is unique and the album fits together perfectly. It's slightly more commercial than his previous work, choruses are more recognisable, there's a genius collaboration with rap veteran RZA and plenty of twitching beats to keep the listener occupied.
Quite simply, his best work yet; wonderful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This 2013 Mercury music prize-winning album from one of the country's most gifted singer-songwriter-producers is truly pioneering. He fuses bass-driven electronica with a very unique and under-stated style of R&B that creates a beautiful, original soundscape; haunting and mystifying as his sultry, warm voice pours out hyperbolic poetry. He uses repetition and samples to good effect with a complex blend of lead and bass synthesizers, percussion and a touch of acoustic piano. There is a nice balance of emotion and intelligence and the purity of his voice captivates, seen before on his covers of Limit to Your Love and Joni Mitchell's A Case of You. With this album, he has created his own musical genre and is a real auteur. There is very little conformity at all. It's certainly for the deeper mind and a bit like marmite, but it's a masterpiece for those with musicality. In particular the track Retrograde, which is absolutely sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)