Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 5 September 2014
Good quality recorder as usual from Panasonic, although it had a tendency to seize up occasionally, requiring a switch off / switch on sequence to clear it. Oddly, seems to have stopped doing this recently. Only disappointment really is the lack of any socket to connect DVD recorder, so I can't transfer recordings from the HDD to DVD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I've had this for a month now and find it reasonably good.

It was originally purchased for my mother - a technophobe - and she found it too much hassle to switch from an aging Topfield PVR (it needs re-tuning several times a week and it hums like an angry bumblebee !!)
One problem noted when connecting to her TV (a not very old JVC LCD), the Panasonic would not work @ 1080p. I eventually changed the setup to force 720p which fixed the problem.

The control delay which a number of reviewers have mentioned I believe only happens when *returning* to play mode, ie if it's in paused or FFand then press play, there is a 1second or so delay.
The rest of the time, it's reasonably prompt at responding to the r/c.

My main gripe with this unit is: There is technically no reason why you cannot record multiple TV channels on a single tuner. TV channels are multiplexed into a stream and sent on a single frequency so a tuner can access all those TV channels which are on that frequency.
Also the choice and resulting content of the 'important buttons' is bizzare eg 'Direct Navigator' & 'Function Menu' make no sense to me

My other PVR is a PC running DigiTV (probably 10 yrs old now but is only SD) and it shows how it can and *should* be done..
The menu display interface is heaps better, has no limit on recordings plus you can change setup, add timers at any time even when playing back a program.

Update July 2017
My mum decided she preferred the Toppy - too different to Toppy, so I inherited!
OK, so the player is still fine, but not so the Remote control !
Several buttons on the remote have simply stopped working, The i (status), the X (Exit) and FF.
I have taken the rmote apart & cleaned it, but still no change
Also, buttons have be held down for seems a long time for the PVR to register them
The saving grace tho' is that the Samsung TV remote is able to work (or communicate) with PVR much better!
No long press on TV remote is required!
I checked to see if PVR remote outputs anything from non-working buttons, it doesn't!

But still alot better than Toppy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Great HD recording quality and simple to use. Menus for selecting from freeview and lists of existing recordings all quite intuitive. I haven't used the internet features as we have these already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
The best video recorder that I have ever had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Absolutely no complaints. Easy to set up and use. I like the way it tells you if there's an HD alternative channel if you click to view or record a programme on a non HD channel. Picture quality is really good on both live and recorded playback. If you want to catch a programme that's past your bed-time, or record a movie when you're not around, it takes only a couple of keystrokes. Recording takes place even if the recorder is on Standby (don't switch off at the socket). Live pause is, of course, just another way of saying 'start recording so that I can see the rest later (it's not magic). This is a marvellous machine if you bought an HD ready TV that has no HD tuner (what a scam that was) because it gives you a full HD setup with two tuners - both of which can be recording while you watch programmes on your original TV if you wish. Our unit has failed to record only once but I think that was because the movie was copyright protected, which apparently happens occasionally. Warning: if this is your first foray into HD then you'll think your favourite television characters are ten years older (every wrinkle shows up) but actually it was non HD making them look ten years younger!
77 Comments| 135 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Just the job thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Great,thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
Listed as "Wireless LAN ready" but this model isn't . It needs an additional Wireless LAN Adapter which costs another £29.99 Grrr
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
Good product. Prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Great bit of kit as good as my BT vison box which it replaced, and its free
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 440 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)