Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 29 November 2013
A Jesus and Mary Chain for the 21st Century but without the 80's misogyny. Sky high production values; hence the title about Imperceptible UFO. Splendid.ly moreish - lush verdant chords, elegiac pace. Great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 April 2013
The Besnard Lakes, a Canadian four piece band based around husband and wife team Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas continue upon their progress of quality with this their fourth album. Their signature of an atmospheric, textured sound blending with ethereal vocals managed by both Lasek and Gorgeas on different tracks has shifted slightly from the hint of the apocalyptic in the images of Dark Horse and Roaring Nights. Although still orchestrally arresting this album takes on a lighter tone, which at first listen to samples of Lasek's vocals might have you thinking...Beach Boys??; that is until you hear the tracks in their entirety and recognise the familiar elemental mix of Besanrd Lake landscape of sound drawing you in. Those aspects of the images of (to me) spectacular bleak sunsets or richly troubling night times have been replaced with soaring journeys up to, into and beyond the clouds, and thence soothing drifting down to glide over whatsoever calming sceneries take your fancy, before the quality of the sound draws you back up again.
Overall this is something of a symphony of many shades, if pushed and demanded upon for one favourite track I would probably pick `Color Yr Lights In' for the crescendo of the chorus, but since this is only my third listening (in one day), then don't pay too much attention there. Choose your own eye-catching image.
For those who have been following Besnard Lakes this is a worthy if slightly different direction. If you are new to the band but like the atmospheric (yep, bears repeating) then give this a try.
Here's hoping not just for a nomination, but an award this time!
22 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
I've been taking a bit of time to fully digest this Lp over the past couple of weeks, and in my opinion it's up there with their previous effort, the magnificent "..are the roaring night", and shows more maturity and class than second Lp "..are the dark horse". Whilst not letting loose as often as on the last Lp, they appear to revel in the controlled power and simmering soundscapes of tracks like opener '46 satires' and 'Catalina'. This works as an entire Lp, not being so effective in single chunks, and secures their position amongst the best and most interesting bands working today.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
I think this LP was produced in the Canadian wilderness, this comes out in the music, the music is big and majestic. I really enjoy listening while looking out of my garden into the Devon countryside.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Sumptuous harmonies with a hint of opulence. This extravagant combination of voice, guitar and celestial strings has a heart that soars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
Can never remember the title of album, but that does not matter as I play it all the time. Different at first from the last great album, but then it grabs you - best album (in my opinion of 2013 so far). Saw them live and the sound was absolutely wonderful and added a different dimension again to listening to the tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Great, fantastic, magic, exciting music. One of the best albums of 2013 so far. Some tracks are anthems for people who loves beautiful music! Excelent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Have listened to this over and over again as it's been my soundtrack for the summer (and will be for the winter as well!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Dull
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Very atmospheric prog rock in the same vein as Anathema or Porcupine Tree, but some of the tracks are a bit shapeless. People of the Sticks is excellent as an introduction; the best track.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Besnard Lakes Are The Divine Wind
£1.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)