Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.25


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2010
By book 3 Promethea has really found its feet. Now that the character introductions and workings of the world have been established, it's easier to focus on the characters and their plight. The artwork is incredible, JH Williams is certainly one of my favorite comic artists and I never heard of him until reading this series.

These books aren't for everybody. There's a lot of exposition involving magic and symbolism which kids and those without an interest would find extremely boring, however; those interested in fiction itself and the creative process should enjoy it. Oh and this volume has cameos by Baron Munchausen, Lucien, Sherlock holmes and Alan Moore himself!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Make no bones about it, the story that launched this saga is put aside somewhat in book 3. You'll find yourself walking with Promethea up a zig zag path, learning about the forces that underpin the universe. The attention to detail is stunning. The artistic themes run closely with the spheres that are being traversed & the narrative cleverly binds itself to the temperament of each.

Taken as a stand alone book, this could be seen as tough to swallow. In the wider scheme of things, it's a gem. I'm impressed that the collaborators had both the guts to attempt this and the flair to pull it off.

Read it and consider yourself initiated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Absolutely brilliant story by Alan Moore, a perfect, beautiful guide to the outer-inner and an inspiration and journey home for dreamers and magic people the worlds over. Artwork is also completely out of this world, it is quite nearly worth your while buying this book simply for the art!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
I loved it but it is not really a conventional comic.
In many respects it is a treatise on creativity, imagination and "magic"
The artwork is incredible and really works well
With Moore's writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
A must-read for anyone interested in the occult, good read for those who aren't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
brilliant x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
This looks very good and I know my son will be very pleased with it. Beautiful graphics. I have to say the firm who sold this are extremely helpful. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2007
The Promethea books contain some interesting ideas (the gorilla is great), and the artwork is attention-grabbing. It's all very colorful and the stories are OK. Not more than that, though. They're nowhere near as interesting as Moore's greats, like Watchmen, because some of the themes are a bit dull and insistent (I think it's often dangerous when writers start writing about the very concept of fiction). None of the main characters ever get really interesting. There is also a tedious procession of scantily-clad female images in these books, perhaps intended as a tribute/pastiche referring to earlier styles of comic and comic artwork (I'm not an expert...) Whatever the motivation, it annoys me. The heroine has to transform from ordinary girl-shape into this voluptuous bikini-being whenever she assumes her superpowers - euech. It's a standard thing in graphic novels and yet here (perhaps because the art-work is so striking) it's particularly distracting and irritating.

I'd recommend other works by Moore (V for Vendetta, Swamp Thing, Top 10) far more highly than this one.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)