Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
247
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2017
I admire Fyodor but he has little artistic accomplishment or mind. Yet, I admire his heart, a criticism which contains a great deal of truth, for though his characters do act extravagantly, madly, almost, still their basis is firm enough underneath... The Brothers Karamazov... made a deep impression on me... he created some unforgettable scenes.. Madness you may call it, but therein may be the secret of his genius... I prefer the word exaltation, exaltation which can merge into madness, perhaps. In fact all great men have had that vein in them; it was the source of their greatness; the reasonable man achieves nothing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
This edition is not very good. But it's practically free. I'm happy to read a badly manufactured book but don't buy if your not. The novel is full of interesting philosophy but the writing style is understandably quite dated. I don't like reading classics for the sake of it but I think it's often worth it if the ideas expressed are interesting. Overall this is quite a difficult book to read but do (it's only reading, you'll manage)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Great story but not easy to read. The characters all have several names. In the Russian language people are now by their formal name plus several diminutives and this leads to a problem of working out who's who. I have started this book several times but never finished it before. The Kindle "look up" facility has made the book more readable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
Loved the way this is written, you are right there with them. Still thinking about it a year later. Quite a tomb though, for me I had to take over 6months to finish but well worth it. It will always linger and sometimes haunt you for a long time to come
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Rambles in places. A reasonable story. But probably loses something subtle in translation. I'm sure it's a better read in the original Russian, but of course most of us don't have that option! Worth a go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
Astonishingly prescient of Soviet 20th Century activities. It shows how long these matters were brewing, but it also covers the depth and wonders of Orthodox faith that the Soviets tried to eliminate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Something to enjoy here for everyone, I think. Great novel with lots of philosophical elements.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
This is something for patient readers who love Dostoyevsky and his unique style. The story depicts life of three brothers and describe their different approach to morality and life. The story is very intense and definitely worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
philosophy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
a book that I like to read and re-read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)