Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
45
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2013
What can I say, this has to be the most interesting and creative album I've listened to in a long time. When you play this its like taking a journey through music, it involves so many influences and interesting sounds, that keep changing with every song, almost like jazz. That said, this is definitely a record you need to listen to from start to finish, the songs work best together. MY album of the year for sure, I recommend this to anyone who appreciates any form of music.
Stop reading this and play the album now!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
If you're reading this review because you're wondering whether to add the album to your basket, do it now. You won't be disappointed.

This 20 track album is a joyous hour of musical creativity, imagination and intrigue.

The general pattern of the record is full length song followed by a filler track, followed by a song and so on. But each element is so diverse, so interesting, you just can't predict what's coming next.

The singles you may have already heard (A lot of love, Oh my Lord) are fantastic in their own right but intertwine beautifully with what's around them, proving how the experience of a well crafted album can be greater than the sum of its parts.

Each band-recorded track is great with a special mention to Fire! and Come to Me (although these might change with another listen.) They all offer something different, from acoustic ballads and gospel to soul and hip-hop.

Meanwhile, the fillers, recorded by Mason alone, are anything but. Samples and riffs are underpinned by funky bass, ambience, dub and brooding electronica. Rather than padding out what's already there, they offer another dimension and demonstrate Mason's trickery and imagination.

All these elements create an album with such sublime structure and flow that before you know it, the last track is upon you, and you've just got enough time to reflect, smile, put the kettle one and press play again to find something new to enjoy.

Quite simply the best album I've heard on a long, long time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
In a television piece I saw yesterday, it stated that One Direction could become the first billionaire boy band .... such is their appeal, the music is incidental! What a world we live in...

Fortunately, we have Steve Mason in it too. 15 years after first seeing The Beta Band perform an unforgettable performance on stage, samurai swords, swapping instruments without dropping a beat etc, in front of a lucky handful, he releases this wee gem. Not a bad track on it. This really is an impressive piece of work. And it flows so well, from the Jock Scot-esque spoken intro of 'The Old Problem' all the way through to 'Come to Me'.

It's hard not to want to listen to this in it's entirety, because that's what it deserves. A proper album then and a real pleasure.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
An album worthy of the five stars. Great production, great songs and probably Steve's best work. Powerful messages throughout and highly recommended
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
This is easily Steve Mason's best work, I know its only March but I can't see there being a better album than this out this year!! A must have for everyone!
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Steve Mason has this hauntingly beautiful voice which kind of whispers over your shoulder and sends shivers down your spine. This is a worthy successor to " Boys Outside " and the single " Oh My Lord " should be be compulsory listening to students of Folktronica music. The album is really that good. Buy it now you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
This is a collection of quality songs from Steve Mason. I bought his last album after hearing "All Come Down", which is a lovely song. The rest of the album was OK but I hadn't marked Steve down on my "must buy" list of artists.

Then I heard "Oh My Lord" on 6 music, the pre-album single from this release. Again, I found it extremely catchy and singing along whenever it came on the radio. I took the plunge with Monkey Minds... and I'm so happy that I did. The album is full of classy tunes and is constructed as an album, great to listen to from start to finish as one.

This will be high up on many Best Of.. lists towards the end of the year, maybe a Mercury nomination???
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Great album, a real grower.

I'd not heard of Steve Mason until this year, so I'm no die-hard fan or anything.

I think this would appeal to many different tastes and has good longevity. Track 4 'Lot of Love' is a beautifully written song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Heard SM on BBC6 and decided to give the album a listen. Cant't stop playing it. So clever and so varied you could never tire of it. OK there are Elbow comparisons on certain tracks but he has a harder edge and goes to places they would never dream of. You wont regret the purchase!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Excellent album full of interesting and varied tracks. This is the best solo Steve Mason album yet. If it had another "Dr. Baker", or "It's All To Beautiful" on it, it would rise above the Beta Band offerings. Good olde worlde LP style cover too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)