Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
79
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2017
Great C.D. Great Seller, No Problems will but more later
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The magical quality of this album depends upon the sublime interaction between Madeleine's voice, Vince Mendoza's string arrangements and a tight band of Hammond B3, piano, pedal steel, bass and drums. Of course it helps that the songs are among the very best in the country canon but haven't fallen prey to over exposure through endless cover versions.

The album has been compared to Ray Charles' "Modern Sounds In Country & Western Music" but it is less a combination of genres and more of a demonstration of how a great voice, great songs and great musicianship can transcend genres to create a work that is original, timeless and satisfying in equal measure.

If there are any doubts that Peyroux is an intuitive and versatile performer her dramatic reading of Leonard Cohen's "Bird On A Wire" should dispel those doubts. From the Everly's "Bye Bye Love" to Buddy Holly's "Changing All Those Changes" and Cindy Walker's "You Don't Know Me" this is the sound of a singer bringing new dimensions to some well loved songs.

But it is the final cut from which the stuff of dreams is made. Warren Zevon's masterpiece "Desperadoes Under The Eaves" opens with epic and majestic strings that fade away to reveal a world where jazz, country, lyrics, melody, voice and music blend into a glorious, unforgettable symphony. There can be few songs that convey so well the despair that loss and loneliness bring and Peyroux delivers straight from the heart.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
I know other reviewers don't rate this as highly as some of her previous recordings and may be it isn't as good but I love her work and her 'worst' is streets ahead of so many other artists 'best'. I am really glad to have it as part of my Madeleine Peyroux collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
I loved this CD, her voice is amazing. Her cover versions are beautifully done. Well worth listening to and I would recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
This CD arrived very quickly and was listened to just as quickly. Wonderful voice although quite a few oldies to get her vocal cords around but great backing and production quality. Heard about the new CD on the Terry Wogan Radio 2 show on a Sunday morning and was not disappointed with the CD at all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
If this is how you like to hear your music, then this is first class. A perfect blend of feelings and interpretation bring together a sound performance of richness that is very seldom heard these days. A gracious soulful blend of talent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 February 2015
This is possibly one of my favourite Madeleine Peyroux CDs after 'Dreamland', 'Careless Love', and 'Half The Perfect World'. It is also a wonderful and sparkling tribute to Ray Charles and the Blue Room bar which is still standing and in use still. This album was recorded there partly and the arrangements and production values are of the top draw. Madeleine Peyroux is back with her usual sound of soft languid tones which sing the songs like snow gently falling. That's how this album makes me feel. Her previous effort 'Standing on the Rooftop', although a nice and pretty good album, was not quite her usual high standards she set herself with the others. This album finds her back at the top of her game.

I couldn't possibly pick out a single favourite on this album so I'll choose all 10 tracks. Madeleine Peyroux's voice breathes a new spark of life in to these classic tracks made famous by the great man, Ray Charles, in the 60's and 70's. Also there's a track originally done by The Everly Brothers, 'Bye Bye Love'. All in all, I really enjoy listening to Madeleine Peyroux. Her voice just takes the listener away from it all. Wonderful and magical to hear the songs on this spellbinding album. I could just listen to this album all the time without getting bored.

Beautiful and delicious. This album comes highly recommended by this reviewer and it is very much well worth a listen. You won't be disappointed. I certainly wasn't. Big thumbs up!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Lovely choice of songs, beautifully sung as usual by the lovely Madeleine. Easy to listen to anytime whether sitting with a glass of wine or cooking at the Aga
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Her finest work yet, so unique, my Mum loved it as a Christmas gift. The seller was very good and the cd arrived promptly with no hassle or delays and would recommend them to anyone looking for such unique music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
great music, great delivery time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)