Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2014
This an excellent CD of finely crafted and well executed songs. Although the style has obvious references to urban blues, rock n' roll, skiffle and even soul, there's something distinctive and quirky about the sound of the James Hunter Six. This is characterised by angular, edgy guitar riffs and occasional contributions from a "singing toothache" organ, often playing somewhat pleasantly distant to the key of the song. The vocals are also of a high standard, exhibiting an impressive vocal and dynamic range. The lyrics seem effortless but they are very thoughtful, and generally express fine sentiments. I recommend this CD wholeheartedly to anyone who likes strong, original, well-constructed and performed songs, with a decent spirit. I can also promise that, unlike so many others, the music on this CD is positive, happy and uplifting. Despite dealing with some difficult and painful subjects in some songs, the whole experience is light, brightening your day and leaving you feeling like life is worth living. Currently a favourite after a tiring day at work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I have just completed a selected compilation of downloads from 'minute by minute','the hard way' and 'believe what I say' They are all good albums. Even my selectivity of tracks meant that I downloaded the equivalent of two albums & not the lot, but that is an indication that the vast majority of the tracks are well executed with no real duffers amongst them.I just prefer the up-tempo stuff more. ' Minute By Minute' seems to be the best album as James' voice seems to have a more lived in feel to it now. If you;ve ever liked Sam Cooke, Boz Scaggs, Smokey Robinson, or Hank Ballard You will probably like James Hunter too. he has one of those classic,richly toned,old style, RnB vocals that bring real feeling into the lyrics. His style may be retro but that doesn't matter one bit if it's done with conviction & has superb quality, and those two traits are very much in abundance here. I sneakily feel that Rod Stewart, who has always been a fan of old style RnB, would have loved to have been able to sing like this, but he never could and still can't. Good ol' Rod just croaks by comparison. James Hunter is a new singer to my ears and I love what he and his band/s have done to bring RnB back to life again.

Eamonn
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
This album is one of my favourites at the moment, it could have been recorded in the 60's.
The variation in the style of songs really makes this stand out from the crowd.
I have spread the word about how good this album is, and hopefully more sales are due.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is James' first record since 'The Hard Way' five years ago and his first record recorded in the US in collaboration with Daptone supremo Gabriel Roth who has previously worked with Amy Winehouse and Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings. It does have that really authentic 50s/60s R&B sound suggesting Sam Cooke and Otis Redding but to me it sounds very similar to his previous records produced in Britain, with his voice sounding just a bit rawer and rougher but still able to really swing on numbers like the single "One way love". The band produce a very full sound for just a six-piece and although they largely keep to the classic vintage soul vibe there are also elements of gospel, blues, reggae, latin and 60s pop in the mix. Like records of the period they concentrate mainly on ensemble playing, with the occasional smokey tenor solo or breaks featuring James' guitar. On the first couple of listens I don't think that the songs here are quite as outstanding as on previous albums, especially the excellent "People gonna talk", and I'd probably pick "Drop on me" and "Heartbreak" as my favourite tracks.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
I bought this after seeing the band do a great set at the Americana festival in Gateshead. I was well impressed with the stage antics and was keen to hear them on the record...I wasn't disappointed! Vintage sounding production, great arrangements and James blistering vocal, a sound that could alternately strip the paint off your stair well, blow the tiles off your roof, and make you Anna glypta slip off. Seriously if you like a spot of funk and soul of an evening, give these guys a spin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
This is the third album by James Hunter I have bought and my reaction to this album is the same as to the other two. They are beautifully played and Hunter is a good singer, however there is just no fire to the music it sounds like a pastiche of something that was done better 50 or 60 years ago by B. B. King and others. So what you have here is a Sunday afternoon album, a pleasant and relaxing listen. To damn it with faint praise it is polite music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Good album if you like James Hunter I prefer the people gonna talk album myself but once youve seen him and heard him you want the lot,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
This is James Hunter back to his best.

It's a mixed but very enjoyable set of tracks.

Roll on the next album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Yet another great album from james hunter, really enjoying it. Love his voice and all great tracks written by james.
He is so so good, more people should be aware of this wonderful voice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
James Hunter brings his stunning vocals along with new songs and a outstanding band to this cd and hits his target right on the bull's eye.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)