Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
100
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.19


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2015
WOW WOW....If you enjoy Blues/rock Check out King King their music is immense.

Alan Nimmo's guitar soloing is something to behold, touches you in a way that makes the hair on the back of you neck stand up...the boy can sing bit too backed by three other extraordinary musicians.

Recommend their live performances too (Chester Live Rooms 21 Feb 2015) awesome energy, great lyrics, four truly brilliant musicians who had the place bouncing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
A follow up to a successful debut album is never easy even for the more notable artists in the world of music, let alone the artists of the blues scene in UK and Europe. Have King King managed to achieve the standard so highly attained on Take My Hand? Yes I believe they have. This is a more mature offering all around from the quality musicianship to the song-writing and production.

Mixing blues-rock swagger with some sublime laid back grooves, I'm enjoying this album more than the predecessor because of the gained experience of the musicians playing on here, Alan's more assured vocals and guitar, Bennett's delicious keyboards , the award winning class of the rhythm section of Wayne and Lindsay, providing the resolute platform for the songs.

The afore-mentioned swagger comes in the form of album opener `More Than I Can Take' and `One More Time Around' before settling into the glorious Hammond groove of `Taken What's Mine'. The song `What Am I Supposed To Do?' is for me the best work King King have produced, from the scintillating music to Alan's emotional vocals, this song is perfection in its construction and execution.

We have the epic slow burning `A Long History Of Love' with Alan showing guitar skills and singing with heart and soul with Bennett's keys layered in the background beautifully.

Covers of a couple of my all-time favourite artists, Frankie Miller (Jealousy) and Free (Heavy Load) are given the King King treatment and do the upmost justice to the originals. `Can't Keep From Trying' is very commercial sounding with more than a touch of Huey Lewis about it. Alan then gets reflective with `Coming Home (Rest Your Eyes)' before the album closer and gospel tinged `Let Love In' has the Rev Nimmo leading the choir in a celebration of joy.

Take My Hand gave King King a host of awards and mass critical acclaim, Standing In The Shadows could very well achieve the same accolades, they have improved on the formula on every level to create yet another classic.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
The best British Rock Blues band around
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Brilliant. Just Buy It
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
I am such a fan of King King now. Love their music; a mix of good old rock and rhythm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I bought the first King King album on basis that I liked the Nimmo Brothers.
I bought Standing in The Shadows because I liked 'Take My hand'.
From the first listen, I loved this album. It is real quality with great talent. When you have great musical ability with great feel and emotion you have (in my opinion)a Great Band.
All of the tracks are good and I guess favourites will vary from person to person. I think that most people who love the blues,especially rhythm and blues will find many favourites on here. Mine is Heavy Load. (It feels like this band have picked up where Free left off) I knew Paul Kossoff for a short time.(Such a nice man). When I hear King King's version of Heavy Load, I think of him. It's a good memory.
This is a great album, don't miss it or King King live.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 July 2013
In 2012 King King, featuring guitarist and singer Alan Nimmo (one half of the Nimmo Brothers and their twin-guitar blues), deservedly won Best Band and Best Album at the British Blues Awards for their live performances and 2011 debut release, Take My Hand.

The band's first album was a fantastic, feisty slice of modern blues rock enthused with a little funk and blues balladeering.
A couple of the album's many outstanding moments included the raunchy, horn-backed title track and a brilliant version of `Old Love,' a highlight of Eric Clapton's Journeyman album.

King King's cover of `Old Love', particularly live (featuring some stunning six-string tone and touch from Alan Nimmo), bettered old Slow Hand's original (and that's not something written lightly).

Take My Hand was such a strong opening statement there was the serious possibility the band's second offering would take after its name and be left Standing in the Shadows of the debut.

A perfect example of Follow That Then, where it's nigh on impossible to match what has gone before.

And, to be fair, Standing in the Shadows doesn't match the debut.
It betters it.

Alan Nimmo and award winning blues bass player Lindsay Coulson (the pair are also the primary King King songwriters) form what is surely the definitive and hopefully long-term line-up of a band now completed and augmented by the outstanding drum talents of Wayne Proctor (another award winner) and keyboard player Bennett Holland.

Alan Nimmo's funky little riff introduces `More Than I Can Take,' a driving and pumping mid-tempo opener that is followed by the slower and rhythmic `Taken What's Mine.'

'Taken What's Mine' also incorporates a heavy, Free-like vibe and is the song that best showcases why Alan Nimmo's vocals are sometimes compared to Paul Rodgers (a great version of the Free classic `Heavy Load' also features on the album).

While there are similarities in tonality and phrasing, the comparison to Paul Rodgers is perhaps better expressed as both singers having `vocal soul' - vocally Alan Nimmo is closer to his fellow Scot Jim Dewar(the late and great singer whose finest moments came with guitarist Robin Trower in the 70's).

Another great Scottish vocalist is acknowledged on Standing in the Shadows by way of a brilliant cover of Frankie Miller's `Jealousy.'
Alan Nimmo is not Frankie Miller (who is?), but on Miller's slow, soul-rock classic Nimmo displays that vocal soul in spades.

But good vocalist that Alan Nimmo is, it's his guitar playing that's a major star of the King King show, whether it be the melodic soloing on the beautiful power-blues ballad `A Long History of Love' or the fluid rock-guitar bursts featured on the harder rocking material.

And then there's Lindsay Coulson and Wayne Proctor, superbly underpinning each song or adding a rhythmic groove as required, while Bennett Holland throws some great organ textures across the songs or interjects with the occasional solo run (such as on the lightweight and fun `Can't Keep From Trying').

In terms of rock and blues punch King King's sophomore release is a mellower affair than Take My Hand, but it's that light blues and rhythmic soul shade (`What Am I Supposed to Do' being a perfect example) that makes it the better album.

But the overall quality of both releases means Messrs Nimmo, Coulson, Proctor and Bennett won't be Standing in the Shadows for very long.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
I have been a follower of King King since their early days, and this, their second album is certainly not a let down!
A couple of very respectable covers on there, and the rest written predominantly by Nimmo/Coulson.
I think compared to first album 'Take My Hand' the new album has a very slightly more mellow and laid back feel to it, but Alan still manages to let rip that amazing guitar to give that King King sound the fans know and love!
The band who work extremely hard, and who deserve to have their music heard, have been championed by Paul Jones from the Blues Band and Radio 2. And hopefully he will give this album the accolaides it deserves and plays some of it on air!!
A Superb album, if you don't know King King, give it a chance, you will be glad you did!!
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Alan Nimmo has a hard earned reputation as one of the best and hardest working guys on the Blues circuit, courtesy in the main as part of the Nimmo Brothers. Now two albums in, with the release of this absolute gem, King King deserve to be up there in the same category as The Nimmo Brothers.

No second album syndrome here, Standing in the Shadows builds on the solid foundations of debut Take My Hand.Now let's get a bit controversial here and see where we go. Alan Nimmo is one stunning guitarist but what about his vocal, in my view it is getting stronger and stronger and on a couple of tracks in particular there are shades of the one and only Paul Rodgers!! Deep and gravelly yes but incredibly soulful at the same time. Just listen to What Am I Supposed to Do and of course the Rodgers penned Heavy Load. Both quite majestic but not in any shape plagaristic.

Throughout the ten tracks the sound is very contemporary combining true blues with soulful grooves and the running order is terrific giving the album a natural flow and the production is pin sharp. Credit to Alan Nimmo too for not hogging the limelight, such is his confidence in his own ability, he gives his band mates every opportunity to shine and they sure take it up. Brilliant keys and the rhythm section underpin the whole damn lot, working in perfect tandem.

Nimmo is a one hell of a guitarist and he has the innate ability to build songs around his sound and punctuate rather than dominate with his blistering solos, Taken What's Mine and the magnificent A Long History of Love amply demonstrate the fact. In equal measure Nimmo delivers punchy riffs and low down grooves a plenty.

Eight original compositions and two brilliant covers, the aforesaid Heavy Load and even better in my view, the Frankie Miller classic Jealousy. This blues staple literally has never sounded better it is awesome, there's fine melody and it is all topped off with a gut wrenching solo from Mr Nimmo.

There are no fillers here, ten strong tracks clocking in at around 50 minutes and that is 50 minutes of blues rock of the highest order. Oh and by the way, just like The Nimmo Brothers, live King King are brilliant, powerful and hugely entertaining. Until you can catch them live catch this!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
For some reason I have listened to King King's second album first. I have only recently heard of this band and this was because they are part of the support for John Mayall's 80th anniversary tour later this year. This is a four piece blues outfit who have won a number of awards around the British blues scene. This offering is 51 minutes long and consists of 10 numbers primarily most of which are written by members of the band.

I would suggest that they are a quality blues band in the vein of Anstey Lister but a little more acoustic and not as raw. The album commences with a fast blues number titled 'More than I can take' this is followed by a more relaxed ' Taken what's mine' which features some guitar work of the sort of quality expected of a good blues band. The track 'Jealousy' showcases the vocal talents of Alan Nimmo.

King King are brave enough to cover a classic Free number 'Heavy Load' which they do very well and there is a little bit of Paul Rogers throughout this album. This is good stuff and I will have a listen to their first album TAKE MY HAND in the near future.

I could have done with some more information with this disc but you are directed to the web site. A good album and well worth listening to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here