Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
97
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2014
I bought this on spec as I had liked London Grammar and this was recommended. Now I found myself listening to this a lot and London Grammar no more. The sings area just beautiful, with more than a hint of the XX about them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Certainly the most interesting first album I have heard this year. Cathartic and often sparse, but at the same time happy to fill space with electric crescendos. I'm not sure why some put this in the folk genre!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Saw them supporting Sigur Ross and was really impressed. This album does not disappoint and I'm totally blown away by the bowed guitar sounds. Can't wait to hear their next album which is due for release soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
So many heartfelt lyrics in these songs. I feel strangely settled when I listen to this in the car on my way to work. Sets me up for the day. All of the songs on this album have such significant meaning
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I've been a fan of Daughter for a while and for them to finally come out with an album was amazing. The songs are all incredible, my only complaint would be that there aren't enough songs on the album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are not many laughs to be had in Daughter's debut but it does
possess a kind of glacial beauty which nags away at the neurons until
submission creeps in by the back door without our hardly having noticed.

Comparisons with The xx are not entirely unwarranted; the mood, textures
and spectral melodies will almost certainly appeal to their devotees too.

Elena Tomra has a strangely haunting voice, a tad one-dimensional but
ideally suited to the ensemble's melancholic muse. Igor Haefeli on
guitar and Remi Aguilella on percussion create a big sound through the
use of dense multi-layered mixing and a hefty dose of reverb which lends
a cavernous ambience to the proceedings. They understand the power of gloom!

Of the ten tracks in the collection I especially enjoyed 'Still' a rather lovely
composition, which comes as close as the trio gets to generating a little
warmth, largely due to its almost pretty chorus; the sublimely creepy 'Touch'
in which Ms Tomra tells us all about the creature in her blood stream and
how it assists in helping her "feel something" (brrrr!) and 'Human', which
would be almost jaunty were it not for another set of macabre lyrics
wherein we learn that that despite - "Waking up like an animal...kicking
screaming" - Ms Tomra concedes that she is "...still human", albeit "...
dying here". It's hard to imagine her in her slippers buying bread and milk
down at the local Tesco Metro on a Sunday morning let alone cracking a smile!

A must for nocturnal denizens who feel most at home when wearing basic black.

Recommended.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
I bought this after hearing the track Youth on the film 'A Long Way Down' (well worth watching).
That is still my favourite track by quite a long way, but enjoy listening to the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2016
If you need to chill, need that hour to just sink into yourself, into your thoughts, let your heart clentch a few time, even let a fee tears fall- This is the album for you! Simply amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
So glad I found out about Daughter and their beautiful music, can't stop playing 'If You Leave'. Their new recently released 'Not to Disappear' (January 2016) is wonderful too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Best album I've bought all year, calm but so moving at the same time. Not a single track I dislike, Youth and Smother are the best in my opinion, so full of emotion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.98

Need customer service? Click here