Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2017
Mum is happy with the DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2016
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Great stuff i have added to my Big John Wayne collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
bril film again one of my favs I will enjoy watching this soon as both are good actors and actresses and this is a good film
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
This movie was recently shown (aug. 14) on Danish television after True Grit was sent a month earlier. It is very fine, but while True Grit is a sure 5 star, this is a 4/4,5 star. Nevertheless this 2nd-final JW-movie surprises (with the respect to the rather old age of Wayne and Hepburn) and shows that good westerns still were made in the mid 70s like "Josie Wales".
In fact this is perhaps that movie, where I like K. Hepburn most - great acting.

Did anyone notice that here is the same confrontation between the "Holy Spirit and the Down to earth" way of behaving like in: Two mules for Sister Sara?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sometimes a multitude of wrongs can come out right. Hollywood has a penchant for making sequels to successful films, so when John Wayne finally won an Oscar for his performance in "True Grit." Wayne played Rooster Cogburn, a fearless, one-eyed U.S. marshal who never knew a dry day in his life. Fortunately Hollywood waited six years before making this 1975 sequel. However, at that point they not only hired a novice screenwriter, actress Martha Hyer ("First Men in the Moon"), they let her rip off "The African Queen" and turn it into a western. Fortunately, they hired Katharine Hepburn to play opposite the Duke.
That is what "Rooster Cogburn" comes down to, the chance for John Wayne and Katharine Hepburn to do scenes together; it also explains why the film is also known as "Rooster Cogburn and the Lady." Hepburn plays Rose Sayer, no, wait, I mean Eula Goodnight, who is the daughter of a minister (Jon Lormer) instead of the brother of a missionary. The gospel is still being brought to the natives, except this time we are set in the Cascades of Oregon rather than the jungles of Africa. The bad guys are now a gang of thieves led by Breed (Anthony Zerbe) and Hawk (Richard Jordan), instead of Nazis, and this time they gun down the minister. So when Rooster comes along to track them down and bring them to his brand of justice, Eula insists on going along.
The plot is predictable in terms of the outcome and familiar when Kate and the Duke end up on the water. But there is fun to be had in these two standing toe to toe, but not jaw to jaw, and going at it. "To whom do you think you are speaking," she intones frostily. "You is to whom I think I am speaking, sister," he shoots back. She allows that he is bigger than she is, but only physically. He observes in this situation that should be enough and they continue to have great fun with the dialogue. Wayne has great fun hamming it up and Hepburn enjoys having an actor big enough to stand up to her assault.
The stories from the set were that the two great stars had great fun making this movie. Their politics were at opposite ends of the spectrum so they just avoid the topics and enjoyed being in each other's company. Wayne was playing a character he had done before in a movie, but then Hepburn's character is instantly recognizable as well, even if the name is different. The names do not matter. They can call them "Rooster Cogburn and the Lady," but it is the Duke and Kate, and their fans will not be disappointed by their time together.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)