Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
107
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2013
WOW THIS IS AN AMAZING ALBUM, you definitely should BUY IT! I think its her best one yet!

from sarah
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Review of the vinyl edition. Beautiful double heavy weight vinyl, in a heavy gatefold sleeve, with high quality inners. The sound is very special indeed. clean and beautifully balanced tone. One of the best pressings I have heard newly issues for a while (BOC and Spirit of Eden were very good too).

The songs aare no great suprise - better than the last album, less like a Joni karaoke - more like she means it. There is a similar tone throughout, but it is a great tone, and will be a long term grower too.

BIG downside (I have not taken off stars for it though I was tempted) no download or CD. As it is currently selling at £25 (I paid £15), that is an even bigger ripoff - not sure what her company are playing at.

However if you are prepared to carry your turntable around your house, and when you pop out to the shops, it doesn't matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Never have I written a review always happy to read them but this album - I still cannot write, words fail me. The entire work needs to be listened to a few times to begin to understand it fully. Laura Marlin is too young to have written this, I cannot belive it and have to listen over and over and still over again. Quite atsonishing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Hypnotic, beautiful songs, sung with great maturity and sensuality. I would recommend it to anyone who likes lyrical, individual artists, that are worth more than one go. Laura's voice dips and soars, and some of the tracks have an Eastern, mystical feel. She is a great artist. Loved this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Arrived as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Laura Marling has the most amazing voice which we have seen grow and mature through her 4 albums. She can take her place amongst the greats of folk / rock music with obvious comparisons to Joni Mitchell and the occasional glimpse of Suzanne Vega too.

This album is something of a departure as well as an evolution of her style and, to me at least is an interesting concept with a 'Theme & Variations' approach that works extremely well. It's far too early to tell favourite tracks yet, as they are complex pieces of work but, with the exception of 'Interlude' - a faux string concoction - there are some likely candidates already.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
as good as last lp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
fantastic album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
bought in error
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
This is the first Laura Marling record that i've bought or listened to. I wasn't so impressed on the first listen but after a further listen and playing the whole album through, I got it. To put it simply this is a record that you need to spend time with. The type of album that can take you away on the train journey home blocking out the world around you as you become hypnotised by the voice and the gentle and understated music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)