Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 29 May 2013
As a young teenager in the sixties, I remember Sandie very well and she had a regular spot on 'Top Of The Pops'.
Great to hear the singles 'You've Not Changed' and 'Today' which Chris Andrews composed, and I personally feel are two excellent pieces of sixties pop music.

'Love Me, Please Love Me' the title track is pure magic to the ears. Sandie was one of the most popular 'girl' singers of the time, and it is nothing less than brilliant to see these re-mastered editions available at last. For the price, I would highly recommend all of these re-releases. The cardboard sleeves remind me of the original LP covers and the booklets and photos are really top class. Look forward to the next 3 re-issues out early June. Thanks Sandie for many happy memories. There is 'Always Something There To Remind Me'. No matter what Sandie thought of 'Puppet On A String' it was a unique winner for the UK back in the time when Eurovision meant something.

Phil
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Very good, very pictorial; delivered as per schedule
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 April 2014
My review is for the 2013 re-issue, which contains plenty of bonus tracks. The first 12 tracks appeared together on LP back in the sixties. Many of those songs were oldies even when Sandie covered them, including Smile, Yes my darling daughter and I get a kick out of you. I love those old songs and Sandie sings them superbly.

As with the other compilations in this series of 2013 re-issues, the bonus tracks include the A and B sides of various singles, but this time also include tracks used in another album, Puppet on a string. Sandie normally liked to keep single and album tracks mutually exclusive, but it would have been silly not to have an album containing Puppet on a string.

This is a truly magnificent collection of music from Sandie at her peak.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
The title track "love Me Pleae Love Me" will always be one of my favourite of Sandie's perfomances. It is really beautifully sung and the arrangement is beautiful too. I bought the original version of this album when I was a teenager and I thought it was soo Coool, It still is! Sandie's version of "Ne Me Quitte Pas" is sung totally in French and she sings it like she means it, a gorgeous track. For me it is a timeless album and one which I will never tire of.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 April 2013
This is a great re-issue of Sandie Shaw's 3rd album (barring 'Puppet on a string') in digi-pak form (73.36mins). It has excellent sound quality (which has been remastered). The cd comes with a 16 page colour booklet that has some nice images of Sandie, lots of 45rpm covers and very good liner notes. The first 12 tracks are the original album as released in 1967. Overall, it's better than her first and second in some respects but is a step backwards in others. To explain, the title track 'Love me, please love me' is superb, as are 'The way that I remember him' and her cover version of 'Ne Me Quitte Pas' (later recorded in English as 'If you go away' by Scott Walker) 'That's Why' is also quite good. The rest of album consists of ill advised cover versions. (7/10). The bonus tracks are a mix of the sublime to the average - top notch tracks 'I'll cry myself to sleep' (Mono), 'Had a dream last night', the heart breaking 'I don't think you want me anymore' and the B side 'Tell the boys'. Overall, this is a great value for money re-issue by Salvo. 8.5/10. Recommended, buy it and enjoy. Looking forward to the release of 'The Sandie Shaw Supplement' in June.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Where is 'Ask Any Woman' from the 'Tell The Boys' E.P.? It's a lovely song and as the other tracks from the E.P. are here as extra tracks one can only assume that this is the result of careless work by the compiler. Otherwise a nice reissue of this variable album - not her best but it has her gorgeous version of Jacques Brel's 'Ne Me Quitte Pas' so well worth investigating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
first class,plz sandie release new material for everyone to enjoy,love all of your 60s music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
She was very talented and lovely singer.I like so much her songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Great singer, but this is not one of her best albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
nice to see album again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)