Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11

on 10 April 2013
Back in late 1980's Gilbert fans had had to wait five years for his latest Album..This 'In The key Of G' issued in 1989 was a spin off from a German only 1987 issue 'Frobisher Drive'. Full of memorable songs produced by Gus Dudgeon, Ken Gold and Chris Tsangarides. Gilbert comes across at his songwriting best, brilliantly produced..
This release includes songs from both the German and UK LP's plus a very jazzed up version of 'So What' instrumental, originally released on the flip side to Gilbert's first 12" single 'So What' in the mid 80's Mixed by William Alexander Smith, originally called 'Dub Mix' but now with added razzmatazz...Instrumental Extended Mix.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2017
A superb album by the legendary singer-songwriter. I could not recommend this enough. It is an absolute steal as it also includes some excellent bonus tracks. No need to think for long about making a purchase - buy it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2013
Another excellent re-release in this series by Union Square. Beautifully packaged and remastered this is truly a must for any Gilbert fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2013
Great value for money with the extra tracks including a rare song from the german version of this album released a couple of years prior to the english release. A very happy GOS fan!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2015
excellent cd great seller
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2013
Class songwriting, brilliant lyrics through out,all Gilbert need this album!! I couldn't find it in Dublin, Thank you Amazon.:)I'm happy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2014
I was so pleased I decided to buy this album, the songs are great and so enjoyable, the production is fantastic too I wish Gilbert would use this type of production on more of his albums, it is probably the best album he ever made in my opinion, been a G.O.S follower since 1971 so I have heard a few albums of his ! until now "Off Centre" was always my favourite, but now I have a new one, and well deserved at that.

Don't hesitate buy this superb album, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2014
great 5 out of 5 would recommend this cd gilbert just gets better as the years go by he never gets the recenition he deserves
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2010
It seems Gilbert O'Sullivan's comeback is complete with this great album which inludes some of the most memorable and moving songs he wrote. The touching elegiac song 'Lost a Friend' pays tribute to John Lennon and Elvis Presley, and sets the tone of the whole album. His music has deepened its wistful lyricism as the painfully beautiful songs like 'At the Very Mention of Your Name' and 'To the Extreme', with the evocative use of the synthesizer, show. Hauntingly atmospheric songs 'If I Start with the Chorus' and 'Gordon Bennett' display his maturity as a songwriter. In many ways, this album suggests a new direction and renewed enthusiasm for seeking new sound and meaning in his music.

Tracks:

1. Lost a Friend
2. At the Very Mention of Your Name
3. What Am I Doing Here with You?
4. If I Start with the Chorus
5. So What
6. The Way Things Used to Be
7. I Don't Trust Men with Earrings in Their Ears
8. Gordon Bennett
9. To the Extreme
10. Stick in the Mud
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2010
It seems Gilbert O'Sullivan's comeback is complete with this great album which inludes some of the most memorable and moving songs he wrote. The touching elegiac song 'Lost a Friend' pays tribute to John Lennon and Elvis Presley, and sets the tone of the whole album. His music has deepened its wistful lyricism as the painfully beautiful songs like 'At the Very Mention of Your Name' and 'To the Extreme', with the evocative use of the synthesizer, show. Hauntingly atmospheric songs 'If I Start with the Chorus' and 'Gordon Bennett' display his maturity as a songwriter. In many ways, this album suggests a new direction and renewed enthusiasm for seeking new sound and meaning in his music.

Tracks:

1. Lost a Friend
2. At the Very Mention of Your Name
3. What Am I Doing Here with You?
4. If I Start with the Chorus
5. So What
6. The Way Things Used to Be
7. I Don't Trust Men with Earrings in Their Ears
8. Gordon Bennett
9. To the Extreme
10. Stick in the Mud
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)