Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
60
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2013
Ghost are such a refreshing change from all the other heavy bands. They have something for everyone and their songs pay tribute to all styles of the past masters.Blue Oyster Cult,Sabbath Metallica,Megadeth.I am a huge Sabbath fan so the combination of latin and riff based metal works for me and is very powerful. This is my favourite album by far in the last year. Can stop playing it and smiling, great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
took a chance with this as saw video to secular haze on scuzz tv and thought this is different! being a lifetime cardiacs/tim smith admirer I thought it might be worth hearing more.
Well I can say i'm very pleased I did- a couple of album fillers apart its excellent particularly tracks 5 and 10.very melodic and not easily categorised. i'm one happy atheist listening to the devils music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
I suspect any poor reviews on Amazon would focus around Ghost's sound straying away from the traditional ingredients of the heavy metal genre, but to those who are disappointed about Ghost's lack of actual heavy metal, I say this: Ghost is not, and has never been a heavy metal band. Doubtless too, the listener will find constant references to Blue Oyster Cult or Mercyful Fate, but Ghost musically has far more in common with The Beatles and harmonies of The Beach Boys, combined with the theatrical zeal of KISS; 'Infestissumam' straight up is a great - nay astounding - good time stadium-esque rock and roll(er coaster) from start to finish.

Ghost's literal interpretation of Orthodox Satanism (their words, not mine) kicks off unsurprisingly with a choir arrangement for the album's title track through to the soaring chorus of 'Per Aspera Ad Inferi'. Ghost's first single 'Secular Haze' follows, and in the context of the album is a much stronger song and compliments the previous track and The Beatles-esque 'Jigolo Har Megiddo'. The album's standout track 'Ghuleh/Zombie Queen' follows - a slow, beautiful, measured ghoulish ballad that draws the listener into a false sense of security before the completely unexpected highlight of the album: a ripping psychobilly/surf number that sounds somewhere between The Stray Cats or even The Dwarves backing an excellent show stopping chorus the crescendo ending in a riff that's as heavy and weighty as the final stretch of Metallica's 'Call of Cthulu'. Not to be outdone, 'the second single Year Zero' rumbles in with a gravitas all of its own, and could be considered the one track that epitomises Ghost's transformation into one of the most successful rock acts of the decade with its huge 'O Fortuna' choir chorus. Both 'Body and Blood' and 'Idolotrine' are both upbeat tunes with the spooky twist with the addition of the keyboard, which was in danger of being overwhelming during 'Secular Haze'. The final two tracks of the standard edition continue Ghost's penchant for huge chorus', 'Depth of Satan's Eyes' and 'Monstrance Clock', the latter wouldn't be out of place on one of Turbonegro's classic era albums like Apocaplypse Dudes or Scandinavian Leather.

Infestissumam is unashamedly huge, bombastic and cements Sweden's well deserved reputation for top notch music. This roller coaster of an album will divide opinion, but for those with an open mind, Ghost continues to infect the listener with its ghoulish pop n' roll: the songs get under your skin, and they refuge to budge. This band truly deserves the acclaim heaped upon them.

Parting shot: If you really wanted to spread the word of Satan, then big hooks and bigger choruses with the over the top theatrics is pretty much the way to go.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Having liked the band since Opus came out I was looking forward to this release with mixed emotions. Would the major label and 'buzz band' status ruin it all? Mostly the answer is no although I don't think this release is as good as, or will have the longevity of Opus it has an immediate and very self aware commercial sound drenched in keyboards with a lot more pop sensibility than I would have expected. There are some very strong tracks here with some really nice retro touches and a nod towards the lush sounds and songwriting of many classic rock (and pop) bands. Opus was a lean, clean, simple rock album with absolutely no filler which certainly can't be said of Infestissumam. There is a major dip in the latter half (especially Body and Blood / Idolatrine) and some songs outstay their welcome just a little too long and are little too repetitive. On the whole it's a great listen but one which I can't see myself returning to as much as I did with Opus.

And now to my main gripe and the reason I've decided to write this review - the mastering. I've only heard the CD version which I own (UK version) and I have to say that on decent headphones this thing is practically unlistenable. It would seem that Ghost are another victim of the ridiculous loudness war which sees many modern releases destroyed by being pushed too far at the mastering stage. This one isn't as bad as the notorious Death Magnetic with much less clipping audible but the lower frequencies are pushed to the point of almost booming distortion at points. I won't listen to this on headphones again and as that's how I listen to most of my music it's a shame (I couldn't even get though the whole album with phones). This CD will now live in the glovebox of my car where the horrible mastering won't be as evident. A real shame because I think Ghost probably recorded a great sounding record before it was committed to CD - hopefully a remaster will appear down the line...
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
This band, this album is fantastic!
I've allready listened to it so many times.
When I'm not hearing the album, the songs are still in my head.
The danish saying: "give Satan your little finger, and he takes your whole arm", is true to Ghost B.C, if you just hear a small bit, it will take you whole!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
The Deluxe Version is 12 tracks not 13 (secular haze is just track 3) the autorip version I got was only the standard edition 10 tracks. As for the material itself, only had a couple of listens and its OK so far, but not a patch on Meliora
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Lots of lyrical hokum but fantastically dynamic and exciting musically. The combination of choir and big guitar riffs is particularly effective. Plenty of melody too in the quieter moments. Not one track I would skip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Great - loved their first album but this is another level songwriting-wise.

Lots of good stuff on here - quite varied - highlight for me is Ghuleh/Zombie Queen - top stuff.

Play LOUD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Great second album from a great band, seem to suffer as a bit of a novelty act in some people's minds ( I wonder why)
But really should be bigger, great hooks melodies and a tongue in cheek material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
If you're a fan of 70's doom/rock this is for you,amazing band,great songs and well worth every penny. Not claiming to be a "metal band" but will appeal to anyone into Sabbath or merciful fate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.72

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)