Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran on Amazon Music Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
54
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£17.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2015
First one I saw! Is my personal favorite. I was young and this film just grabbed at me and dragged me along for a great ride. It started my love of Hammer horror films which continues today 50 plus years later.
True it is not the best, but it is still a fun and well made film.
The story has all that is required of a good horror film and the director Freddie Francis did an excellent job with it. Peter Cushing leads a solid cast through their paces and the story moves right along.
Universal studios had opened up their library and Hammer took to it in a fun grand way. Alot of the script plot and devices are from parts of the old classic series by Universal. This only makes it more fun for us classic horror fans.
On a side note the bluray and dvd both play wonderfully on my Bluray player even though they claim that it is region B/2 I have a region free dvd player but was surprised when I popped them into my reg player here in the states and they play all the way through. I
The transfer was fine and the picture very good. Recommend to all of Peter's fans as he was in his prime when doing this! Great stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
I have to say I don't know why this movie gets such poor reviews. It's a decent storyline about Baron Frankenstein who discovers his monster trapped in ice. He was shot some years previously and his brain is damaged so the Baron brings in a hypnotist to see if he can stimulate the brain and get him up and running again.
The makeup in this movie has been criticized too. In many of Hammer's other Frankenstein films the monster only has a scar here and there - Revenge of Frankenstein, Horror of Frankenstein, Frankenstein must be destroyed, and "Frankenstein Created Woman" had no scars at all. The monster is supposed to be a reanimated corpse made from bits and pieces of various dead bodies. At least this one LOOKS the part. I like this movie, I think it's one of the better ones.
FULL SCREEN is correct for this film, it was not made in Cinemascope. At the time it was made, (1964) there was only 1.37:1, regular, or full screen as they call it today, or cinemascope at 2.35:1. The 1.78:1 aspect came in later.
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
One of my all time favourite horror films. Appaently regarded by Hammer purists as out of step with the two previous Hammer Frankenstein films, 'Curse of ...' and ''Revenge of....'. But this is a great yarn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
I noticed that this film has mostly five-star reviews on Amazon, but I am sorry to say that I do not agree with them at all. This was Hammer's third in their Frankenstein series but, in my opinion, is also one of their worst. Only The Horror Of Frankenstein is worse than this and that didn't even have Peter Cushing to save it. However, Cushing plays the Baron in a completely different way in this film to the others in the series. Here, the Baron is presented as a whinging, moaning man, completely full of self-pity and persecution issues. I would have thought that he would completely understand why people persecute him, when you consider what he did. This film is also not written by Jimmy Sangster and it shows, because it completely disregards the previous films and sets up a whole new backstory for the Creature and The Baron, which totally ruins the continuity of the series. The production and sets are very good, granted, but I suspect this is only because it was backed by Universal Studios, so they probably had a bigger budget than usual. This partnership also explains the look of the Monster himself, which resembles Karloff for the first time, but doesn't look half as good. You will also be amazed at how many references to the Universal Frankenstein films you can spot in this film, even if some of them are less obvious. I give this film two stars, because of its continuity issues and the fact that it lacks Hammer's usual style and orginality. At least the next one, Frankenstein Created Woman, was an improvement, but then that would not have been difficult.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
This movie is not the best Hammer film out there but it does have its very good moments. It has had its knocks over the years but as an avid Hammer Horror fan I really had no problem with this film at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
A decent film but not the best of Hammer's Frankenstein films let down by the acting of the monster which lacked depth and menace. Nothing to complain about with picture quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
This is the third film in Hammer's Frankenstein series, after the excellent CURSE and REVENGE, and again stars ever-reliable Peter Cushing as an energetic Baron Frankenstein.

After being repeatedly hounded and chased out of town and city by superstitious authorities and angry mobs, the Baron finds his way back to his home town, from where he was originally exiled. He discovers his belongings from his castle have been plundered by the local authorities, but is again chased by them, taking refuge in the mountains and cave systems. Here, with his assistant Hans, he discovers one of his earlier experiments, a creature, encased and preserved in ice. They haul this off to the castle, to revive the creature but its brain is weak, and Cushing enlists the powers of a travelling hypnotist, who awakes, and ultimately controls the creature, using it for his own evil purposes. Cue mayhem...

EVIL is clearly a loose continuation of Hammer's Frankenstein mythos, and is easily viewed as a stand-alone film, almost enscapulating the other films, and their main theme, into one. Cushing is excellent in one of his best roles [across the series of Frankenstein films] and really throws himself into the part. The sets and costumes are again sumptuous, and classic Hammer-style. There is excitement, humour, intriguing flashbacks, and the addition of the evil hypnotist adds pace, instead of it being yet another retread of the familiar story. The monster is well made-up and effective, and look out for the scene when it escapes, leaving a trail of mutilated sheep behind it. Although, why it chooses to down a few bottles of plonk towards the end, I'm not entirely sure.

In general, then, this is a highly-enjoyable Hammer film, and deserves to be more widely seen. It is rarely on television, and I certainly haven't seen it on terrestrial TV in about twenty years, so if you're a fan of Hammer and their Frankenstein films in particular, you could do much worse than picking up this DVD at a reasonable price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I've Loved This Tale On How Baron Frankenstein (Peter Cushing) Was Going To Fix His Troubles After He Was Thrown Out Of Karlstaad Castle For Creating A Monster In The Laboratory & Hired A Hypnotist Called 'Zoltan' To Bring The Creature To Life. But, Everything Had Gone Horribly Wrong For The Baron. Zoltan Had Hypnotised The Creature To Rob The Villages. Full Of Surprises In This Movie. Hammer Horror Is A Huge Smash For All Horror Movies. I've Read About Each Hammer Film & Also The Stars As Well In The Movies.

Absolutely Fantastic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
"Final Cut Distributors are a poor mans "LIONSGATE " They should never handle Blu-Ray Transfers. "The Evil Of Frankenstein" blu-ray is "NOT" a Good Transfer,to any stretch of the imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
For me The Evil of Frankenstein is a superior film to the much overhyped Revenge of Frankenstein.

For one the settings are better and the gothic atmosphere reigns more supreme. There are more charcaters here.
The mute woman, The evil hypnotist and of course the monster represents a more true likeness to the Universal one.

Cushing as ever is present and good and he is aided by a helper Hans.

I like the fact that this is a continuation of the story. Some people claim it isn't. But watch the beginning, they are clearly on the run heading back to Kaarlstad from London perhaps? It would make sense.

There is a lot going on in the film and you will be rewarded with a second viewing. It fits quite a lot into it's 83mins. The escape at the beginning, Cushing's back story, being hunted down by the locals, finding the monster, the hypnotist, I could go on.

Though this isn't the masterpiece that the dvd box claims, it is an ennjoyable well thought out sequel.

As for the dvd release itself, the extras are a major disappointment. With just a trailer and a gallery of about five pictures which are small- with no zoom feature. Still great to have the film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse