Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 11 January 2015
My favourite 'loo book'. A wonderful reliquary of obituaries, most of them highly entertaining, but many are simply jaw-dropping and humbling. As the title says, these really were great lives.

I absolutely love this book and ended up buying several further copies to give away, with the feedback from the recipients equally positive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
I read one day at a time - and am always intrigued by the selected lives. Beautifully written, this would make an ideal present to a discerning reader who relishes a good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I bought this for myself as I am a big fan of the Telegraph obituaries and have not been able to put it down since it arrived in the post. Full of wonderful stories of a huge variety of lives lived to the full. A perfect Christmas present as there is something for everyone in it. Can't recommend this highly enough.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
A delightfully wry take on death from Fleet Street's finest practitioners of the art. The perfect Christmas present, it is a delightful anthology ideally suited to dipping into with the port.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Curious selection of death notices that have appeared in the Daily Telegraph since the inception of its obituaries page in 1986. The book, which surprisingly has no dust jacket, is laid out in daily form, corresponding with the date of the subject's death. A category by category selection would have been preferable. As mentioned in the introduction written by Harry de Quetteville, the current obituaries editor, a lot of famous names are missing from the book while lesser but more interesting people appear. One obituary that was originally published online and not in the paper is a chilling account of Jade Goody's life. Most days have just one obituary and while many are reproductions of the original pieces, others have been severely edited. The book has an index so any desired obituary can be read straight away.

An interesting but flawed book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
This is a MUST for Christmas, beautifully edited obituaries for every day of the year, a truly facinating mix of people.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was actually for my husband, but he ended up reading extracts to me,
until I hogged the book myself.
What fun! And how interesting!
It arrived earlier than predicted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
This is good to dip into from time to time having missed so many obits from the DT. There are so many interesting people cropping up here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
I have felt for some time that many people led very remarkable lives and one rarely hears about them. This book puts an end to that and I think it is a great coffee table book when you have a few minutes to kill - would recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Hugely entertaining, often laugh out loud funny and always brilliantly well-written: for example

Of Gay Kindersley (Champion amateur jockey): "His lovers included Ann, Marchioness of Queensbury; the zither player Shirley Abicair, a White Russian known as "The Volga Boatwoman" and a lady master of foxhounds with a pilot's licence nicknamed "The Flying Fornicator".

Of Serge Gainsbourg (of Je t'aime infamy): "As his career progressed, Gainsbourg discovered that his capacity to outrage was increasingly hindered by public tolerance".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here