Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now New Album - Depeche Mode Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
290
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2015
Great album. Listened to it in California. Perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Just wow! Awesome tracks with an 80s vibe to them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
HAIM were predicted to be very big at the start of the year. Their debut EP "Forever" and a superb line-up of live shows made them a clear band to keep an eye on. Polydor, however, noticed this and assigned some top producers to help with the creation of their debut album. The result is something different from the live shows we all know and love but still a masterpiece and probably one of the best record to be released this year.

The opening is very single heavy but at least it lets you know you're in the right place. Already it is obvious just how much more glamorous this is compared to earlier impressions. In fact, the first half of the album is just a more shiny version of the live shows. If I Could Change Your Mind packs the catchy riffs of an 80's hit, The Wire recounts an awkward relationship whilst capturing the technical glory we know HAIM for. In fact, it is hard to be disappointed with the first half if you have been following HAIM from the start like I have.

It's after Don't Save Me (perhaps the best single to come out of America in years) that things become harder to swallow. Days Are Gone is co-written with Jessie Ware and this shows in the songs overall production. A lot more sampling and electronic sounds are used to create an atmosphere distinctly not HAIM. It is a good song in its own right but feels out of place on a rock record. My Song 5 draws a sharp contrast and offers some generally hard hitting riffs and melodies. Again, it doesn't feel like the HAIM we already know but this new, feisty HAIM is probably the direction I would follow in the future. The ending of the album finds a nice place in between new and old HAIM: keeping the gritty percussion and guitar whilst enhancing it with a style that only a proper studio could achieve.

Although lyrically weak, Days Are Gone is an exceptional album sure to please the general public. However, HAIM veterans may want to listen to a very samples first before taking the dive - but be assured it is completely worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Loved it after seeing them at various festivals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
surprised. Had never heard of them. good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Fantastic album, delivered on time as usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Love the record however it came scratched .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Bought after I watched them at Glastonbury
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Fast delivery and excellent purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Fantastic service!!! Love the album!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here