Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Midnight Blues: Paris, London, 1968-72
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 May 2017
Vintage Francoise Hardy. At her best!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Just as promised, really good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 May 2013
Beautiful songs, beautiful voice and a beautiful looking woman. This is a soft and gentle stroll through Francoise Hardy's English spoken output from 1968 to 1972. It's a mix of covers (Randy Newman, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Leonard Cohen and others) and her own compositions. Most of the tracks are very good, my favourites are 'All because of you' and the exquisite 'Sunshine' - with Francoise's wistful, beautiful voice combining with such sad lyrics - painting a million visions of long lost days - stunning. Overall, the compilation (68.40mins) has great sound quality, it's both crisp and clear. The cd comes with a 12 page colour booklet. Recommended.

P.S Coming soon 'Ace' records compilation - 'Tres Chic! More French Girl Singers of the 1960's' which contains 2 Francoise Hardy tracks - volume one is great, check em' out.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 August 2013
Her English vocabulary and vocal ability may have been somewhat limited, but the singer's charming demeanour ensured Francoise Hardy was labelled the early Sixties "Epitome of the Modern Woman" with men including rock stars Mick Jagger, David Bowie and Bob Dylan, drooling over her simple external beauty and tranquil inner being. The UK exported Petula Clark to France but as a fair consolation prize, France granted us Francoise who scored in our 1964-65 Charts with ET MEME (#31), ALL OVER THE WORLD (#16) and TOUS LES GARCONS ET LES FILLES (#36). However, her popular French hits were not only re-recorded in English but also in German, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese so her heart remained truly European.

Moving on a year or two and Francoise expressed a desire to specifically record songs in English with British arrangers and this release has combined her ONE-NINE-SEVEN-ZERO
album (minus one song SOON IS SLIPPING AWAY at the request of Francoise) released in the UK by United Artists in 1969 as well as FRANCOISE HARDY (1972) with just one added track from her EN ANGLAIS set of 1968. Regarded as rare, these recordings represent a gentle mix of ballads sometimes multi-tracked or merely simply stated with an occasional underlying chorus and appropriate arrangements that emphasise the singer's ethereal qualities. Headed by the charming SONG OF WINTER, CAN'T GET THE ONE I WANT and LET MY NAME BE SORROW plus her co-written WHY EVEN TRY and I JUST WANT TO BE ALONE amongst several contributed by the singer, there are also covers of the better-known SUZANNE (Leonard Cohen), I THINK IT'S GOING TO RAIN TODAY (Randy Newman), UNTIL IT'S TIME FOR YOU TO GO (Buffy Sainte-Marie), TILL THE MORNING COMES (Neil Young) and that Elvis hit LOVING YOU (Leiber/Stoller). Overall, such variety assists the pleasant outcome and hypnotic journey through albums which probably failed to enjoy deserved success when originally released. The extensive notes gives a full history of the recording sessions plus graphics of various albums covers as they emerged in different countries under differing titles.

Boosted by thoughts of her slim figure and iconic fashion style and it's good to know Francoise Hardy's simplicity and influence continues to survive within French cultural circles.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
Good new for Françoise's fans:
the complete version of "One Nine Seven Zero" (including "Soon is Sleeping Away") is avalaible here:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001MHHVDE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

the full album is completed by another: "Star" (1977)

The mastering is excellent. The only little bug is the songs are not in the original lp order. But it's easy to program your CD player for having the original playlist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Sublime recording what a talent which was never truly appreciated.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Francoise Hardy Is Just So Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
Good CD delivered quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
In my opinion, one of the greatest French singers of all time, if not the greatest. About 30 years ago I bought a French album and, while these are old songs, they are in English. Francoise had and still has something
haunting about her voice, which makes her very special. I would love to get the French collection currently available, but I will have to win the Lottery first. Still, I mustn't be greedy. Midnight Blues certainly does not give me the blues. Brilliant.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
This CD makes for relaxed easy listening. The voice is smooth and and the instrumentation is clear but, buyer beware, it is certainly not blues; in fact there is not one blues riff in any of the songs. A more apt and honest title would be "Midnight Muzak" as it excels as easy going background music which does not demand a keen ear. I don't think Ms Hardy has the soul and spirit of her contemporaries, Marianne Faithfull and Julie Felix.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

En Anglais
£14.45

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)