Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
I originally bought this on the factory cassette, the cd is brilliant remastered a really good debut from 2 brilliant song writers and musicians. I am a massive New Order fan and at the time it was a relief to hear some good music after New Order splitting little did we know they would reform again and split and reform with hooky forming the light. This CD takes me back to my youth Get the message and Getting away with it are brilliant but there are no fillers on this album. Johnny Marr also plays getting away with it at his gigs and his version is brilliant too. The cd arrived in good time perfectly packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Great album but this took 6 weeks to arrive and was the original version without "getting away with it" ...this was not clear in the description. Disappointing. It was also damaged and looked like a ripped cd. Rather than something genuine. Beware buying from a third party.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Everything is fine.Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2001
A golden nugget of the musical scene of 1991. The debut release of New Order's Bernard Sumner and The Smith's Johnny Marr proved to be a real winner.
Though a side project, the feeling of a supergroup was never faraway with the Pet Shop Boy's Neil Tennant dropping in on 'Getting away with it' and 'The Patience of a Saint'.
I first got my copy of this on cassette on the legendary Factory label. And I can still remember the feeling I got when I first heard it. It was one of knowing that at last the music you wanted to hear had been recorded and released, knowing that someone else out there felt the same as you! I remember many times, quite anti-socially, not going out with my friends and staying in and listening to this album again and again!
The opener, 'Idiot Country' sets the scene. Swooshing atmospherics, crunchy electro rhythms and Marr's sterling guitar work all to the fore. Sumner's lyrics were more expressive than usual too, perhaps set free from the tension in the New Order camp.
Altogether a wonderful album, there is no point saying there are any special tracks, they all come as one listening experience.
Go on, recapture the feeling of '91.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 years after release, and for no particular reason, Bernard Sumner and Johnny Marr's debut is reissued in a new configuration with a slew of additional songs. After a cursory 1994 remastering, this 2013 edition features the original debut LP, and a second CD with a huge host of additional material. After the demise of The Smiths, the suspension of New Order, and Johnny Marr's temporary five year excursion into The The, Electronic, who on paper seemed like a match made in heaven, were possibly the only 'supergroup' who actually were super. Here Sumners love of electronics, and Marr's wide vista of styles and eclecticism, welded styles in a perfect union. As far as debut records go, even though this was Sumner's eighth, and Marr's sixth full length record, it is confident, assured, utter genius. Aided and abetted by three songs which sees members of Pet Shop Boys onboard as well. Marr's love of funk, choppy dance rhythms, and squalls of guitar, as well as spindly and muscular melodies shine through, whilst Sumner - irking the wrath of Morrissey - added huge slabs of his plaintive, emotionless/emotional vocals, underrated guitar work, and deft production skills. Where the record is dated is only in the occasional outbreaks of 'italian house piano' (that also can be heard of the 1996 followup and New Order's "Republic"). As it stands though, it's a great record, with nary a dull or misplaced moment, though one of two halves as it stood just on the cusp of the entrance into the CD age where you didn't have to flip the vinyl slab over.

Bonus tracks are a scrappy and bizarre selection of oddities from across the bands lifespan. Leftover songs, remixes, and variants from the 1996 and 1999 albums are spread across it with barely any thought for sense. The songs are given largely pointless remix edits, so material from the era that spawned the parent album (remixes of "Gangster", "Get The Message", "Feel Every Beat", "Disappointed", "Lucky Bag") are absent. In their place, four previously unheard remixes of 1996 and 1999 LP tracks are added somewhat pointlessly, and three mediocre instrumental b-sides are bundled in. On the other hand, "Second To None" is one of the best songs either party has ever attached their name to which is bafflingly not on the original album. Whilst the idea of a continuation of the band seems unlikely now, Electronic are a gem in the history of music you would be wise to investigate.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
Very satisfied with my order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2001
OK, this CD's been out for years, but I recently went through my whole collection, and can wholeheartedly say that this is one of the few CD's I have where there is not one bad track. I can happily listen to the whole CD from start to finish without skipping a tune. The only one that comes close is New Order's "Technique". I am a rabid Pet Shop Boys fan and even they can not achieve an album without a track I dislike! Obviously it's not going to be to everyone's taste, but if you like New Order, The Smiths or the Pet Shop Boys I would be surprised if you were disappointed with this gem. It's a shame Electronic's second and third albums did not match up to this calibre, although they also contain some cracking songs.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2005
Whether you're a fan of New Order or not, if you have any taste in music there's no way that you could dislike this album. I got it not long after its original release date and I still play it regularly, which is one of an elite group of albums in my vast collection that this happens to. I can't recommend it enough. Perfect analogue synth sounds, classic Johnny Marr guitar playing, better-than-normal vocals from Bernard, and above all great, emotional songwriting. Sadly, it will always remain in New Order's shadow, hugely underrated like many classic albums. BUY IT NOW!
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
I bought this album in it's original incarnation way back in the eighties - very shortly afterwards it was re-issued to contain the Neil Tennant collaboration 'getting away with it" and remember I was a bit gutted at the time (I wasn't about to buy it again, back in those dark days we in GB had to pay around £14/15 for cd's), now, twenty years or so later I bought this version which contains "getting away with it" AND another Neil Tennat collaboration, "Dissappointed" which was not on the original either, I have now been reliving the whole album with these welcome additions plus the additional cd of remixes etc.. is also a bonus for die-hards, all at great price !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
'Electronic' began in the late eighties as a side project, similar to that of a summit of great leaders meeting on the world's music stage. 'New Order's' vocal veteran and multi-instrumentalist Bernard Sumner, who at the time was desperate to break off his guitar shackles and embrace synths more. Then we have guitar legend that is Johnny Marr of 'The Smiths', one of the most influential bands of the modern era. Finally, enter the 'Pet Shop Boys' Neil Tennant, the thoughtful and insightful vocalist of the most successful pop duo ever. Even 'Kraftwerk's' Karl Bartos offers an occasional helping hand.
This is a very cross-genre musical outing. CD1 gives a very mainstream feel, with debut single 'Getting away with it', a tale of self-conscious doubt and feelings of guilt. Opening track 'Idiot country' sets the tone well, with 'Patience of a saint' an eagerly awaited contribution from the earl of electro, 'Pet Shop Boys' keyboardist Chris Lowe. Break-beat and hip-hop vibes also arrive in the form of track, 'Some distant memory.'
Disc 2 provides the more alternative sound with a couple of traditional 12inch numbers and some fresh material to boot. Tune 'Second to none' harps back to the acoustic routes of guitar and power ballad with 'Lean to the inside', a more than competent, atmospheric synth instrumental. To top it off ,' Until the end of time' boasts more common house music techniques such as piano-riffs and breaks.
This LP is for experienced and tasteful pallets which have been round the musical block a few times.To be honest, this epic coming together of talent would not have sounded out of place on the haloed dance floor of the legendary Hacienda too.

DiscJockey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)