Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
128


on 2 June 2017
What a wonderful record! Modern yet retro at the same time. Motorik beats, driving guitars (and banjos), swirling synths and excerpts of films and programs from the 1930 to 1950s all combined to make something that makes your feet tap and bring your inner air guitar out.

I have been lucky enough to see the band live several times and it is faultlessly reproduced. A talented bunch of guys.

You can't help thinking that Herr Dinger and Herr Rother would have sounded like this if they had been born in the UK. Certainly there is more than a heavy nod to Neu! and the propulsive music that they made.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2015
Came to hear Public Service Broadcasting only recently but just love their music. Seems like a cross between OMD (especially their album Dazzle Ships with similar vocal inserts in their tracks), New Order and other great electro bands of the 80's, only now brought bang up to date for the 21st century. a great duo with some wonderful writing. And if you like this (i did immensely), you must hear their newest album 'Race for Space'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2013
OK, first heard Spitfire Bird at a pub quiz, didn't what the hell it was but Sound Hound is a great tool. Bought The War Room on the back of that (thoroughly recommended too) and then IEE. Seriously great original music and what was even more awaesome was watching them perform these tracks down at The Brook in Southampton last week. Not going to try to describe what they do, listen to the sample tracks, I think that you'll know whether you're going to like them or not. Only thing I would add is, if you think you might like them - you definitely will! Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2015
This is a good album but not as good as the new one 'Race to Space'. It has very good tracks on it but lacks a direction as in the new one. It is almost like a compilation of tracks from elsewhere. It is a good starting point though, so you can see their potential. Buy this as a starting point as I think this band has bigger and better yet to offer. David Wilson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2017
From the first track took me away 2 the world of PSB.. Great.!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2017
The best band to come out in the last 10 years or so IMHO, totally unique, great musicians and production etc. saw them live and they were ace!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2016
All their albums are entities unto theirselves - and whilst right now this is my least favourite (the Race to Space being #1) it's still one of my favourite albums to put on atm

What a great concept / and what a great band!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2016
I bought this together with Race for Space, and this is my favourite of the two albums. Both are exceptional works and if you have never listened to PSB buy this now! Very highly recommended, it is a polished work of musical art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2014
I really like the concept and the music these talented guys weld together. Vinyl is excellent quality sound. Several good tracks, topped by their "hits" Spitfire and Everest. See them live if you can, or at least on You Tube, to get the videos and quite a helping of humour. I just wonder where they're going from the niche that they've made for themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2016
I love the idea, and it's well executed. That said there are limitations in using public service film soundtracks as your vocal line...but in this world of me-toos and soundalikes, Public Service Broadcasting offer something original and should be thanked for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The War Room
£3.49
The Race For Space
£4.99
Every Valley
£8.59
Live at Brixton
£4.99
Elfstedentocht (Pt. 1 & 2)
£1.79

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)