Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
121
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2017
What a wonderful record! Modern yet retro at the same time. Motorik beats, driving guitars (and banjos), swirling synths and excerpts of films and programs from the 1930 to 1950s all combined to make something that makes your feet tap and bring your inner air guitar out.

I have been lucky enough to see the band live several times and it is faultlessly reproduced. A talented bunch of guys.

You can't help thinking that Herr Dinger and Herr Rother would have sounded like this if they had been born in the UK. Certainly there is more than a heavy nod to Neu! and the propulsive music that they made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
I love the idea, and it's well executed. That said there are limitations in using public service film soundtracks as your vocal line...but in this world of me-toos and soundalikes, Public Service Broadcasting offer something original and should be thanked for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
From the first track took me away 2 the world of PSB.. Great.!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Consistently good and innovative tunes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Absolutely brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Public Service Broadcasting cant do no wrong, another great offering....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Terrific.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Saw PSB supporting the Manic Street Preachers at The Ritz, Manchester last week. Excellent musicianship and interesting sound, they also went down pretty well with a hardcore Manics crowd. I like this sort of stuff though, it reminds me of Stereolab crossed with Fluke. My wife hated it.
33 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
I love this album. Indie guitar over that classic voiceover of the people who did the public service announcements.
Best track for me is Spitfire, the story of the world war two fighter plane over 3 minutes or so of spoken word and music.
On constantly in the car, please buy this album, I am sure it will not disappoint.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
The first album from Public Service Broadcasting is a stunning debut. The duo have been winning plaudits from numerous areas, I first became aware of them as the War Room EP was being played on BBC Radio 6 who have been championing their unique sound for many months. Having heard the tracks I then got to see them live which if anything exceed expectations. All too often in this day & age the sound you hear in recorded format bears no comparison to the 'real thing'. Not so in this case and I strongly urge anyone who likes the duo to catch them at one of their gigs over the next couple of months, although be aware that tickets are selling out fast.

So, what to expect? Public Service Broadcasting seem to have carved their own niche in creating a new genre of music. Suggestions on what to call this genre would be gratefully received, as although they have similarities to other bands they seem to be making this method of sampling old information films & the like with a mix of musical styles their very own. How to define their music seems to be another issue as they seamlessly move from melancholic banjo plucking to electric guitar with a driving drum beat. All seems apt for the subject matter at hand and you are left wondering why no-one has come up with this splendid idea before.

I'm not going to pass comment on individual tracks as they are uniformly strong with no weak links. If you have doubts then go and listen to some tracks in their entirety on YouTube or the like, but do come back and buy the album. Remember, the more we buy their output the more likely it is that this extraordinary duo will continue to produce their amazing work. The music press seems to like them too with what seems to be a wholly positive response to this album.

As the title says, I just wish I could give this 6 stars at it is the most wonderful, unique and fun album of recent years.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49
£4.99
£8.99
£4.99
£1.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)