Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 25 November 2014
Eddie Murphy is Axel Foley and the only person to play him which I am sure any sane person will agree. So why is Berverly Hills Cop 3 rubbish? I really don't know why it missed the mark, because the first films are great. The original is a classic and the second one is way up there and as satisfying. What went wrong with the third? Is should have been good. After all John Landis directing Eddie. Eddie, "the f**k you man" back in the role. I mean, Landis made Coming To America and Trading Places which I think are the best of Eddie's films. But I am sad to say that Beverly Hills Cop 3 is nothing like the first movies and has lost all it's charm. Bloody shame in my book. Having read and seen interviews with Eddie and Landis, it would appear they did not get on and Eddie only did it for the pay cheque. He did say however that nobody sets out to make a bad film. BHC3 is a bad film though. It's has none of the hard cutting humour of the first two and is kid friendly. Not in the way Gary Glitter is kid friendly though, so don't panic. It's just weak and not funny. I found my recent case of piles more amusing. That feeling of a piece of broken glass in your ass. Sharp and bloody painful. Well BHC3 is not sharp, just painful. There are loads of stupid " cute" jokes which are not funny and certainly not cute I can tell you.

What really chaps my ass is that Eddie does not seem to be playing the same Axel we all love. With the first films he was a cheeky chap with the mouth of a tramp. But now we have only have the sports jacket, but none of the zing or edginess and all of the honesty of the original characters has gone. It all feels as deflated as a blow up doll you have gotten too passionate with and punctured with your mutton dagger.

I have watched the film a few times and I do own a copy and every time I watch it I prey it's better than I remember. Some films are like that. But not this, well not so far anyway. I've not seen it for years so may change my mind the next time I give it ago. I hope I do have a change of heart because a small part of me likes it a little bit. If they do make another installment, which I here they are, I will welcome it.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2009
That's a comedy, as you know and expect, and any occasion is good to make something funny, or heroic, but that heroic act is at once turned into some fun. Take fun being a hero. The centre of the whole action is a theme park in Los Angeles with as many rides as you can imagine, but the entrance fee is rather high, thirty five dollars, especially for year 1994. And don't think it is a travesty of Disneyland or Disneyworld or even Wonderland, the mainland of Alice. It is just Wonderworld, with dinosaurs and other monsters and a few criminals dressed up as security guards perambulating among the crowd.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, University Versailles Saint Quentin en Yvelines, CEGID
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2011
Beverly Hills Cop is one of the all-time great action comedies, the second one launched Tony Scott into the twinkly jaws of Hollywood, but this third one... is it even a Beverly Hills Cop film?

Axel Foley doesn't really act like Axel Foley here; very little smart mouth and clever getting into buildings with the use of his laser tongue. The relative realism of the previous two movies goes right out the window, replaced with childish mugging, surreal (read: lazy) humour that the previous two instalments didn't possess and bizarre action scenes, especially in the climax, that defy the laws of logic, but not in a visceral Die Hard 4.0 way; think Tomb Raider 2. It's like watching a Saturday morning kids show with a potty mouth.

The first thing you'll notice is the music - gone is the synth-only awesomeness that always seems to remind me of Deus Ex. There's an orchestra now because, like, it's a big movie innit? There're big set-pieces too, which would be good had there been anything of any artistic, narrative or comedic value bookending these sequences. God, I hate this film with an intensity that you can actually see with night vision.

What the hell was John Badham thinking? This movie ruined his career, and with good reason - but did it have to take down Eddie Murphy's with it? A horrible waste of a very large budget with a terrible script that was reportedly written as they were filming, and it shows. The five star reviews here must be either those who will make a profit off the selling of this godawful DTV film masquerading as a theatre flick, or they're trying to be cruelly ironic. Or they're just deeply stupid people with no sense of what makes a film good. DO NOT under any circumstances buy this film, even out of curiosity.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2017
This was the first of this films series I saw in 97 and followed by watching the next two.
I quite enjoyed it at the time. Mainly because it was made in the 90s and not the 80s so it was a bit more modern.

Looking back at it, 20 years on from first seeing it, I am not so sure about it now.
Its alright but it has not aged as well as maybe the others.
Then again its meant to be stupid isn't it?

And of course yes, I am sure this sort of behavior does go on at Disney Land I am sure!
However...why has it taken them so long to write a 4th one?

I admit this film could of been much better, it has its moments but the lack of the original cast of the first two albums is what spoils it somewhat and disjoins it from the first 2.

So, hopefully the 4th one will be much much of an improvement.
Killing off Inspector Todd was a good motive for the films story but it kinds of puts a full stop on everything considering the lack of the original cast of the first two movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 May 2011
The early 90s were not kind to Eddie Murphy. Paramount butchered Another 48 Hours in the editing room, audiences turned their noses up at Boomerang, and almost nobody even bothered with The Distinguished Gentleman. Eddie had lost his pulling power and decided to go back to the role that made him a superstar. But 1994 just wasn't the right moment as most of the cast and crew were busy, leaving very little in the way of continuity. Several scripts came and went, and what we finally got was a lame 'Die Hard in a Theme Park' story.

There is a huge list of reasons why BHC3 stinks:

No Taggart.
No Bogomil.
No Jeffrey.
No Harold Faltermeyer.
No Bruckheimer/Simpson.
No opening title.
No wisecracking.

Don't get me wrong, I like Hector Elizondo, but he's no substitute for John Ashton (who's absence is explained with a single, flippant line of dialogue). I can't help but think if the above list was shorter then the movie wouldn't have been such a failure. Where on earth did the $70 million budget go? John Landis' action scenes are flat and static, with no real spark or energy.

All three Beverly Hills Cop movies have had horrible scripts, huge plot holes, and hammy villains, so I guess in a way it IS in keeping with the tradition. Eddie Murphy gives a very lazy, disinterested performance as Axel Foley, which reminds me a lot of Seagal's effort in Under Siege 2. Neither of them wanted to be there and were phoning it in long distance. This is NOT the Axel you know and love here.

It's saved from a one-star rating by Judge Reinhold's gung-ho as usual Rosewood, and the last minute addition of Axel Fox, a nice touch and the most three-dimensional character in the movie.

The Blu-ray is in 1.78:1 and is a huge step up from the mediocre DVD. The sound is in DTS HD-MA and there are no extras.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2015
Very silly but surprisingly entertaining fluff in this 3rd outing for Eddie Murphy as Axel Foley the Detroit cop who always ends up in LA. This time his assignment is to uncover a money printing scam going on beneath the theme park of Wonder World. First up there are absentees- So no Bogomil and no Taggart- the reason was simple, as production was held up so much due to the budget going haywire-(Murphy received $15m for this role), that the two actors had to drop out. But Judge Reinhold, Gilbert R Hill and 'Serge' do return. Indeed it is interesting that Hill who played Murphy's lieutenant in all three movies, only ever starrred in these films. He comes across as a natural actor.

It's a predictable film, but some of the action sequences are stand out stuff. The most surprising aspect though of Part III, is the chemistry is back, unlike Part 2 there are touches of magic here. There's also enough violence to keep fans happy too.

Murphy has gone on record to say that he dislikes this movie- but this feels like an improvement on Part 2. However it isn't a patch on the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2016
Favourer film as a kid.

love wonder world and the scene when he's on the spider ride thing saving the kids.

amazing miss the 80s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2011
BHC1 is a great action film. BHC2 is a good action film. Sadly BHC3 is one of the worst films of any genre ever made. It is so poorly and inconsistently directed clearly Landis thought the film was called "National Lampoon's Beverly Hills Cop". It is chock full of lame jokes, weak sight gags, utterly pointless cameos, dreadful special effects and some of the worst film music I have ever heard. Nothing makes sense, the characters are flat and one dimensional, the setting in an amusement park is godawful and everything grates badly. And why is it no-one with a machine gun in this film can hit a car or person even at point blank range? Everything that made BHC1 exciting and successful is missing here. It is easy to see why Murphy's career hit the skids so quickly in the 90s with rubbish like this on his resume. This film has one single moment of quality - when Harald Faltemeyer's fantastic original Axel F tune plays at the start. That is it. Steer well clear.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2017
I found this film acceptable but not as great as previous 2 films in this franchise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2014
I paid 0.01p for this dvd

If only they'd spent as much on the script & storyline.

This was a truly awful third attempt at the Beverly Hills Cop franchise!

My advice ...stick with the original Beverly Hills Cop as anything after that just went down hill
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)