Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
92
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 March 2013
William Goldman is supposed to be one of the great screenwriters, but this film is a bit of a mess. I rooted for 'Babe' and he held the thing together, but all that stuff set in Paris, with his brother, how did it all relate to the main plot?

Why did he go back to Marthe when it was obvious she wasn't any good. Why did he allow her to drive to the country? How come Szell was recognised twice in a New York street after being in exile 30 years?

How did they end up in a waterworks at the end? Just because Goldman needed some permeable iron stairs? There are some excellent moments. I like the conflict between the drivers at the beginning, but it's a film that definitely does not repay careful study.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
This is a great film, for me spoilt by issues which I guess have been caused by the transfer to DVD. I did have this film on VHS and it was of pretty good quality, however, the DVD I have has pretty poor sound quality and a kind of 'washed out' picture quality running throughout the film.

It does spoil the film somewhat, nevertheless, all that said, it does continue to be a film well worth watching, with the highlight definitely being Dustin Hoffman's on screen presence/performance which lights up the film and which, I feel, outshines both Roy Scheider and Larry Olivier's performances combined.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2004
Marathon Man is an absolute gem of a film. It is like something you catch on TV late at night. It has people you know in it but you don't really understand why you have never heard of this film before and why are they putting it on so late when only the insomniacs can see it. This film is so real but also so fake and so gritty. It takes place in a half dream state and everything in this film is so cool. You have Nazi's living in South America, you have stunning little incerts of an athlete running in the olympics, a great fight in a Paris hotel room, the chase through the streets, the house near the end(which is quite scary) and then a Nazi walking through New York with millions of dollars worth of diamonds in a briefcase. All the while a woman swears that this man is a murderer from the war. Its all perfectly written, directed and acted.Everything comes to a head nicely though, as Oliver leans over Hoffman and places a dentists drill in his mouth. Shocking, excillerating, one of the thrillers of the 70's. But is it safe?...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Of course its safe but it wasn't when I first saw this film way back in the 80's, good performances all round and took me back fortunately not back to the dentists.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
Saw this when it came out,has lost none of the gritty drama.Excellent Lawrence
Oliver and Dustin Hoffman very good pairing.The teeth scene my top torture clip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
Watched this originally many years ago.... was pleased to be able to get another copy to watch it again... great price too....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2007
Scripted by William Goldman, 'Marathon Man' is undeniable classic of cinema, Dustin Hoffman, plays Babe Levy, a keen graduate student and the 'Marathon Man' of the title, unwittingly becomes involved In a deadly game of international intrigue, involving the legendary Laurence Olivier, who famously plays an Nazi Fugitve, (Szell) who after years of hiding returns to the 'land of plenty'(New York) With his deadly tool's of his dentistry trade to collect his massive cache of diamonds no doubt plundered from the suffering Jews he slaughtered, in the death camps,

Hoffman and Olivier, two acting legends,face off each other in the Nail biting climax, Roy Scheider, plays Hoffman's older yet none the wiser, brother who is also mysteriously connected with Szells affairs, The film which feature's the now classic scene in which Levy is mercifully tortured by Szell(Ex dentist) still holds up today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
This is a great film and you certainly won't look at your dentist in the same way again, "Is it safe"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
This has always been 1 of my top 10 films and I've been a film buff for 20 years. A lot of the more recent movies are hyped up too much and don't live up to the hype and, this is why I return to older classic films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Great film , one of the best . An absolute classic . Lawrence Olivier is fab as the 'Weiss Engel'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)