Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 8 December 2017
Nothing wrong with the quality or delivery of the product. But one of the worst movies ever conceived. Pantomime acting at best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2017
slow movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
I managed to get the final seat in a screening of Sawney at Frightfest in London last August and I'm so glad I did. This is an excellent British horror with a fantastic true story/legend to back it up. There is plenty of gore for the gorehounds but there's also a good little story in there too.

David Hayman plays Sawney with such verve that I hope they manage to persuade him to reprise the role again, the rest of the cast did a great job too but for me the star of the show is Scotland itself - the scenery looks amazing and this is definitely one to own on Blu-Ray rather than just DVD. I'm a big fan of Frightfest and can't wait to hear the commentary from the director and Ian Rattray who organizes the festival, his first commentary I think

One of my favourite films of last year finally coming out on Blu-Ray...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2013
A truly unique film; Sawney-Flesh of Man mixes gory horror with stunning scenery, and memorable characters that will stick with you long after they have wreaked havoc on your screen.

Despite some of the characters being utter cliches (the scruffy worn out detective, the tortured alcoholic journalist, the depraved inbred hill dwellers) most of the relatively unknown cast do a fine job.

The film was shot almost entirely in Scotland, and some of the scenery is absolutely stunning. The film is produced in such a way as to enhance the rugged beauty of the countryside, which is used frequently to add a mysterious and almost Gothic feel throughout. The scenes shot on the Cuillin mountains in the isle of Skye were particularly impressive.

Despite these good points, the film does succumb to predictable plot structures during its final quarter, and for such a unique and exciting film to trail off with one of those 'seen-this-a-thousand-times-before' type endings is a huge disappointment. It's almost as if the film-makers were just fed up and decided to rush the ending so they could go home for tea. I won't go into too much more detail, as I wouldn't want to spoil the storyline for anyone considering watching it.

And watch it you should, because despite its shortcomings towards the end, 'Sawney' is a great way to spend an evening with a few beers and some of your more twisted friends, and will remain firmly in my ever expanding horror collection for many years to come.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2013
Saw this at the Glasgow Film Fest . Great film of its genre . For fans of real blood and gore with some very dark humour . Filmed in and around Aberdeen as well as beautiful scenic shots of Glencoe and Skye . Very impressive first feature film by young director Ricky Wood .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2013
The legendary tale of the Scottish cannibal Sawney Bean has given inspiration to storytellers, literally, for centuries. Contemporary consumers of horror fiction will be familiar with such works as Jack Ketchum's novel Off Season and Wes Craven's The Hills Have Eyes which are both said to have been inspired by the story of Sawney Bean. I've been captivated by this legend since I was a child and recently, I've been eager to see Sawney: Flesh of Man, a 2012 modern retelling of the legend starring award-winning Scottish actor David Hayman (Trial & Retribution, Rob Roy, The Jackal).

For those not familiar with the tale, legend has it that Sawney Bean was the head of a 50 strong incestuous clan of cannibals who lived in a cave in Scotland in the 15th or 16th Century. This horrific brood survived by ambushing, robbing, murdering and cannibalising passers-by.
The tale goes that the murders attracted the attention of the King, who subsequently organised a hunting party, leading to the capture of the clan and their execution without trial. The males of the clan had their genitalia cut off, hands and feet severed and were allowed to bleed to death. The women and children were burnt alive.

Given my familiarity with the legend, I was initially surprised to see that the DVD cover came with the tagline "Based on the true story of the Highland's most infamous cannibal clan". The story is neither true nor from the highlands, since the legend of Sawney Bean originates from the Ayrshire area of Scotland. However, this ultimately gave me no cause for concern.
Setting the tale in the present, this film takes as the foundation of its plot a series of missing persons and follows a troubled young journalist (Samuel Feeney) as he conducts his own investigation into the disappearances. Sawney: Flesh of Man wastes no time in getting to the gore and is deserving of its UK "18" certificate, not shying away from visceral scenes of murder, rape, torture, sodomy and of course, cannibalism.

Working with a talented and attractive young cast including Samuel Feeney, Elizabeth Brown and Shian Denovan, David Hayman tackles his role as the film's titular antagonist with great relish and delivers some of the movie's more memorable lines with some decidedly creepy quotes from the Bible. Gavin Mitchell (TV's Still Game) is convincing as the beleaguered cop, contending with pressure from his superiors to deal with the mounting body count and the journalist causing problems for the police investigation.

Despite its reported limited budget, this film makes the most of it and financial constraints certainly haven't restrained the cinematographer Ranald Wood from making the most of what he has access to and exploiting the natural rugged landscape of Scotland to enhance the story being told.

The film is not without its flaws and at times, Hayman's performance could be considered OTT but in my opinion, this is in keeping with some of the more darkly humorous aspects of Sawney. At just under an hour and a half, Sawney: Flesh of Man thunders along, ramping up the body count building towards its explosive finale and ultimately, this Scottish cannibal tale is pure unadulterated popcorn horror!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2013
I loved this film! Although it's a low budget movie, you'll never guess it was as it looks stunning and the make up and effects are top notch! Although the plot is a bit silly (the twist ending is stupid), it's still a very enjoyable watch. Be warned though as it's thoroughly nasty in places! Some of it even reminded me of a short film call "Roadkill: The Last Days of John Martin" in that it's just relentlessly brutal at times, but this film somehow manages to be light hearted too. Infact, the Sawney character reminds me alot of Freddy Kruger with his deadpan quips. Look for the scene with the head in the fridge and the "you won't want the soup then" line!

The DVD claims a run time of about 112 minutes, but the actual film is actually a little under 90 minutes, but this is for the best really as it means the film keeps a fast pace and doesn't outstay it's welcome. Extras are brief, but worth watching once at least. Picture quality is sharp and looks amazing.

Sawney: Flesh of Man is a film that I can highly recomend to anyone who loves a good gore film as this is easily the best modern horror film I've seen in years! it's only it's daft end that stops me from giving this film a full 5 stars! Excellent stuff :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2017
Excellent film - a must see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2013
Like the other reviews I saw this at a film festival. Really thought it was excellent. Good home grown horror with lots of blood and gore. definatly one of those you want to own
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
I can only agree with the majority of reviews here. Thoroughly enjoyable film. Scenery is magnificent, acting generally good. David Hayman plays the part of Sawney brilliantly. I saw from a recent interview with Hayman in Dark Side Magazine that he is a great supporter of home grown film makers and low budget films. Well done to him and I'm glad he agreed to appear in this film. He looks like he had a great time making his first horror movie.
Definitely recommend this one and for me, it will be one I will go back to and watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)