Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
52
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.34+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2013
I can't give this album five stars simply because it's relatively new and you've got to give stuff time, and then you need to leave some room for Blonde on Blonde and Berlin and The Scream's own Vanishing Point and other classics, but really it is v. Good. Side Man is a stand out at the minute for me, but the standard right across the whole thing is typically high. Ever since the abovementioned they've been fairly consistently good. I prefer the harder edged stuff to the Memphis type material, and must praise Bobby for retaining a political interest when all the old Weller's sold out so long ago, a subject touched upon on 2013. Why Mani would want to go back to the Stoses I don't know.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
This is a return to the beats driven and soul-stomping version of Primal Scream, leaving behind the Stones' inspires blues rock they have dabbled in over the past decade. Holmes' production adds a nice cinematic feel and he is clearly a fan. The opener '2013' is a statement of intent, clocking in at nine minutes complete with Kevin Shields soaring guitars. The opulent 'River of Pain' is a psychedelic trip full of Indian influences. The song 'Culturecide' has a hint of 'Vanishing Point' about it while 'Hit Void' is a sharp rocker. At this stage the album starts to lose momentum and the lingering 'Tenement Kid', experimental 'Invisible City' and the faux-country of 'Goodbye Johnny' all plod along pleasantly. The brickwall of soundscapes of 'Sideman' is interesting but has the listener quickly reach for the skip button. Robert Plant's vocal contribution on Elimination Blues is cool and understated and bring the album back on track. The snappy 'Turn Each Other Inside Out' flows nicely. In contrast 'Relativity' is overly long and the first section can only be described as a racket, until it becomes a different song altogether four minutes in. The again, oddball arrangements and hooks are things to be expected on a Primal Scream album. The acoustic 'Walking with the Beast' lead to the lush 'It's alright, It's ok' that seems to incapsulate all past influences complete with a trademark stomping chorus. Accomplished.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
I just love Primal Scream so Im a little bias but this is a very good album ..... more please
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
More Light sees Primal Scream playing every card they have up their sleeves onto one album. The movie noir space and atmospherics of Vanishing Point melding seamlessly with their straight-ahead rock'n'roll alter-ego to create easily their best album since XTRMNTR (I say this as someone who has liked all their albums since then).
Lyrically on a few tracks, it feels like they're saying,"with Beautiful Future we warned you what was happening, now here we are. What are you gonna do about it?" Hard to argue with them.
The year is 2013 and Primal Scream have nailed the Zeitgeist yet again with their most comprehensive album to date.
Essential listening.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
The sublime genius of BOBBY GILLESPIE is still in full flight and he still runs his empire of sounds majestically.PRIMAL SCREAM has perfected its sound as a combo on this record: More Light and with gratifying moments throughout all the tracks included -which also means: all sonically shimmering added with energy and excitement!Psychedelia followers have always enjoyed the sonic gems of this combo and it's trademark. Really splendid!

HELENE RAMOS GALAGARZA
peruvian journalist,cyber dj,producer
editor,promoter,photographer,writer
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Yep, in my opinion this is their best album since 'Vanishing Point'. There are many great moments, opener 2013 sounds like mid-seventies Hawkwind complete with Nik Turner-style sax blasts, which is never a bad thing. Given the loss of Mani to the Stone Roses, I'm pleased they have kicked on and produced an album with a wonderful bass groove and swing. Overall the album flows really well and David Holmes has done a great production job. By the time you get to the last few bars of It's Alright, It's Ok you feel like you've been on a proper musical journey, just like all the best albums.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
This is an insanely good album. I am so impressed by this album and this band - still producing such creative, original, thought-provoking rock music after all those years. From the startling `2013' through to `Its Alright Its Okay' it never lets up. Brilliant. It must surely be a contender for album of the year.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Remember the 90s, when your favourite artists ruled the music charts despite being 'alternative pop rock', released great new albums and it felt like a big event, and was exciting holding the new CD case in your hand? Primal Scream's More Light brings back those memories. There's only one weak song (Goodbye Johnny), and to my mind that ratio makes this a great album. They've come back to XTRMNTR levels of attitude, passion and brilliance. Who knew? No self-parody or chasing tails, just full steam ahead. Deep, diverse, unpredictable, and satisfying, it gets better with every listen. The likes of Depeche Mode could pay attention to this and take a moment to re-evaluate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I just love this record, it feels big, ambitious and sweeping. But I'm going to throw in a word that many of you may not like and the uber cool PS fan might disagree with, probably because they're too cool to have checked out "Hall of the Mountain Grill", but by god does the opening track "2013" sound like mid to late 70s Bob Calvert era Hawkwind (inc Hawklords and Sonic Assassins).

Every time when I go to listen to it I keep thinking "I must be wrong", and then the mid tempo driving, phased chords kick in, the sax fires up, the little guitar lines come in and out and the synths swirl around and it sounds even more like it than the previous time I listened to it... so much so that now some of other tracks on the album are echoing Hawkwind to me, but obviously with the immeasurable casual cool of Primal Scream stamped all over the top.

As somebody who finds the fact Hawkwind are consistently judged and maligned by the "Silver Machine" single, I find the fact that it appears that Mr Gillespie and Mr Innes have thrown some of Hawkwind's far superior work into their swirling mass of influences and inspiration very satisfying indeed.

Think I'm barking up the wrong tree or deluded? Let's not forget the fact that a cover version of "Motorhead" (originally a Hawkwind song" appears on Vanishing Point... but this album is so much more than just a single influence, there's even a cheeky "Midnight Cowboy"-esque moment at the end of "Relativity" and the lyrics throughout the album are on top form - "What happened to the voices of dissent? Getting rich I suppose..." Bobby gently observes in 2013 going on to state that there's ..."No revolutionary spirit left, they've sanitised the freaks.."

I wonder how I'll be feeling about this record in 6 months, but right now I'd got so used to Primal Scream releases being a steady "ok" and just good enough to warrant a tour that this slab of music was a complete unexpected beautiful surprise. I would say that if the lads who recorded "Screamadelica" could have jumped forward in time to see where they were at in 2013, they'd be feeling pretty damn pleased that they were still going so strong and putting out such a class record.

My last piece of advice - get the double vinyl, (you get a CD with it as well), this is a record that is made for and deserves to be heard on that format, thanks guys, you have made a 42 year old cynical music snob very very happy, cheers!
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£5.41

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)