Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
51
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2013
Great album, The Scream at they're best. Great production by David Holmes, Bobby has worked with him before.
2013 nearly 9 mins long, not long enough!
Love the Andy Weatherall remix on second disc too.
Love the album, massive Scream fan.
GET IT NOW!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
In the 90's Primal Scream were just untouchable, releasing groundbreaking album after another, but then the quality started to dip, perhaps the band had burned themselves out, or they'd settled down to raise families & there priorities had changed.
Whatever the reasons, PS released a series of, not bad records, but just a little disappointing (there was a time when the release of a new PR was a mayor musical event) compared to albums like "Xtrmntor" or "Vanishing Point".
So we arrive at "More Light", that sees the band completely rejuvenated, creating an epic & eclectic masterpiece.
Mixing a whole load of styles & moods, from soul to swirling densely packed psychedelics, Moroccan drone, a bit of David Lynch & the obligatory Stones track (obviously!), although after the "Screamdelica" tour I thought the album would be a lot more dance orientated.
Theirs is quite a lot of sax played throughout the record that adds a little bit of depth & atmosphere to the music. Gillespie's vocals (he sings on every track) are pretty strong as well, which can't be said for every PR album.
This album certainly maintains your interested throughout, & by the end your certainly feel your been on a fascinating musical journey.
As for the deluxe version of the album, the extra tracks are good, a little looser & atmospheric. None of they are quite strong enough to make the original record (which is probably why there extra tracks!) but are defiantly worth paying the extra for. The Andy Weatherall remix of "2013" is a bit pointless, you would have thought he'd had a stab at "It's alright, it's OK", perhaps he didn't think lightning would strike twice after the success of "Loaded"
So believe the hype, this is PR's strongest record since "Xtrmntor" & an early runner for best album of 2013.
Although I don't know what type of flower Mr Gillespie would make, quite a grumpy one me thinks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
This album totally blew my expectations out of the water. One of the best Scream albums. Highlights for me are River Of Pain, Goodbye Johnny and Invisible City
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Good psychedelic (ish) rock album. I like the Primals in this style. It's somewhere between riot city blues and Give out but don't give up in style. Feel good rocking tunes in the main. INstantly likeable but lacking any new classics in the vein of "rocks off". If you like Primal Scream, don't hesitate. If you're new to them, this is a very accessible album to start with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Interesting album, some great tunes, and it's pretty much a journey from start to finish. It stands as an album on its own, will probably still be listening to it in 20 years time, like Screamadelica. I don't often get into buying stuff by older bands, even though I'm from the 80s/90s and -that- summer of standing round in fields - there's too much good new stuff coming out every month, but this sits quite happily alongside tunes in my collection that came out last week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
It's a long time since I was hanging out in Brighton bumping into Primals pre Screamadelica. That came and I went but what an album it was to have as your only tape to listen to on a Sony Walkman along side World of Twist as I travelled round Oz, NZ and the States in '91. Fast forward to 2013 and this is the next best Primals outing. Bobby seems to have card down although he looked a little out of it at Glasto last week. Great album... Rated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Excellent band and superb album
Saw them at Glastonbury where they played 3 of the new tracks to a appreciative audience
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I've been a fan of primal scream for years and was so excited about this new album. I was not disappointed. This is not just an album. This is an all encompassing experience. Each song leads seamlessly into the next. It peters off slightly at the end, but there are resonances of the Klaxons and Cold War Kids. Really cool. Definitely recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This is another floorless album from Primal Scream. Like all other Primal Scream albums it is going to be a timeless classic. The remixes on disc 2 are awesome.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
At long last someone recognises the greatness of Skipton's "The Russian Tea Room", as referred to in the eponymous song on this so-so album. "The Russian Tea Room" can be found at 4-6 High St, Skipton BD23 1JZ.
As to why the arguably talented Mr. Gillespie chose to write about this restaurant is beyond me. Though someone did say that Bill Wyman once stopped to have afternoon tea there in 1965.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£4.20
£4.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)