Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 18 May 2015
Not bad if you want to rustle up something quick for your madhouse!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 December 2015
I love cookery books and already have far too many, but I spotted this and couldn't resist taking a punt..... I'm so glad that I did! It truly is excellent, with some really original ideas for good family food, and, most importantly to my mind, the recipes actually are really quick to prepare using fairly staple ingredients. The Monday to Friday recipes are particularly good; our family favourites include chicken, cheese and corn quesa-d-easies and the amazingly quick and yummy Sausage, Pesto and Tomato Penne. These were devoured by my normally somewhat fussy 12 yo and 3 yo and even the baby loved them. One star off simply because I'd've have preferred more of these type of recipes - the book does go a little off track for my liking with recipes for entertaining and quite a lot of sweet options, which I don't really need. I can't fault the recipes themselves though. Throughly recommended if you're a busy parent who still believes in cooking great family meals for everyone to enjoy together.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 February 2016
I got this for Christmas and literally haven't stopped cooking from it since! We have eaten most of the recipes and they are all winners. Again, they are great for the children and all use straight forward, easy to get hold of ingredients- in fact there have been several occasions when I've been caught out or had to "rustle" up an extra meal and was able to find everything I needed in my cupboards or fridge so I think that makes it a fantastic book to have to hand. As with Fay, the instructions are short, clear and given in just a few steps. The book is arranged in sections with some ideas for quick weekday teas, weekend meals and grown up entertaining. I have used it for dinner parties and there were clear plates all round.
The absolute best bit about this book is that at the bottom of each page is another short recipe suggesting ways to transform any left overs or ingredients into something else so essentially you have two recipe books for the price of one. Some of these "extras" are really worthy of their own full page - like the chocolate truffles.... yum! Tonight I'm cooking her veg chilli but as suggested at the bottom of the page, we will be having it with tacos rather than rice. My children aren't big fans of rice but really love eating a meal when they can help themselves to different filings and toppings and generally eat more this way. Jo has encouraged me to make my own guacamole, humus and other dips which I had no idea were so simple to put together and these are becoming a key feature with our weekend lunches. They go really well with a tortilla wrap, lightly brushed with olive oil and a sprinkle of paprika, cut up in triangles, baked and then used to fob off the children that they are doritos! (This recipe in is her other book - see below)
The pudding suggestions are inspirational - her version of a creme brûlée is brilliant, the raspberry cheesecake pots are so easy to make they take literally five minutes and the lifesaver hot chocolate pot cakes are amazing. I have saved several play dates by suddenly being able to cobble together a rather impressive looking treat from very few ingredients in under three minutes! Now if that doesn't make me a smug mum.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2013
Really thrilled with this book. Very inspiring. Even better than her last two books. Everything I have made so far has been a real success.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2016
This book is great for family meals and adult meals. Jo Pratt uses a refreshing blend of ingredients and makes even the most daunting looking recipe simple and delicious. Love the flavour combinations for her pasta dishes, fritters and more - more importantly, my children love them, too.
Cooking a vegetable dhansak, beef rendang or primavera risotto from scratch is a doddle using her easy to follow instructions. It also contains a recipe for the perfect moist chocolate birthday cake!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2014
This is a great addition to our family cookbooks. Jo writes really clearly and her ideas are not complicated at all, but just greatd combinations of things, or interesting spins on recipes you know, executed well with inspiring photography too. There are also some great alternative suggestions and tips for freezing, serving leftovers etc so you feel that she appreciates the practicalities of family life in the kitchen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2016
I have cooked a third of the recipes in this book and so far have not had a flop! They are all good. The ingredients are well thought out, create lovely flavours and best of all, are straightforward to prepare! (I am not particularly quick or efficient in the kitchen but these recipes are very simplistic and result in fantastic food.) Unlike a lot of recipe books claiming to create simple and tasty meals, this one actually delivers! Jo, you are a star!!! Xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2015
Great meals and dishes, simple to prepare and cook. Although aimed at the busy family household, I've found it a great book with which to go from lazy and not cooking anything ambitious to more enterprising without too much time or complexity. The book itself is very clear, and well set out and has a pleasant tone to introduce or elaborate particular sections. Worth a place on any bookshelf, or better yet, open in the kitchen!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2015
Really good. I'd cook a lot of recipes from this book. I do like a pic with all recipes and this book doesn't have that (hence 4 stars..) a great mix of family food and stuff for entertaining. A good buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2015
This is one cook book that I love. There are very few recipes in here that I would not consider making for my family. Simple but tasty, and great for flicking through when you need a bit of inspiration to get out of a food rut.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)