Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2016
The starting point of a long and rewarding journey, "Wildlife" was my first encounter with La Dispute, and now I'm pretty close to having the whole lot. This is a startling and profound album, musically diverse and lyrically as good as rock music gets. Post-hardcore is it? Sounds like a lot of other things too, so don't be guided by labels. Sure there's guitar noise aplenty, but with a gentle touch when it's needed, and some superbly engaging arrangements. The lyrics are intense and articulate, whether shouted, whispered, sung or spoken, and work like a book if you want to follow them through properly. It's worth the effort too. Then go find their other albums and various eps. The variety is astonishing. And the "Tiny Dots" DVD reveals them to be a bunch of the most charming and articulate young men you could ever hope to meet. Your mother would love them if not the frightening racket they can make.

They are the most exciting new band I've come across in a long time. And they led me to Pianos Become The Teeth, but that's a whole other story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
I knew very little about La Dispute prior to getting "Wildlife" and bought this album on a whim after it recieved a good review in a magazine I was reading. I intended to put the album on as a bit of background noise but soon found myself captivated. This album is unique, especially the lyrics and their poetic, story-like nature.
The vocals do have a tendancy to overpower the fantastic instumentals but doesn't really affect the album greatly and to me stands as a testament to the vocalists passion and intensity.
"King Park" is the most hard-hitting and emotional song on the record, culiminating in the heart-breaking climax where the vocalist screams: "Can I still get into heaven if I kill myself?". "The Most Beautiful Bitter Fruit" is another stand out song with urgent vocals complimenting the drums and guitars.
Give this album a go even if you're not typically into hardcore because this is not a typical album and has a lot to offer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
La Dispute are one of my all time favourite bands, mainly for the depth and beauty of their lyrics. I admit, I had this album before I bought the cd, but decided to buy the physical copy because I wanted to have it and hold it. So worth it. The album is a concept album, and the case and lyric booklet are as much of a work of art as the music itself. If you like this band, or want to try out a band unlike any other, don't hesitate in buying the dc. fully recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
I'm not sure why this band isn't more famous. Far from being another screamo band, La Dispute is a very original band, where the screaming parts of the vocals are offset by softer, spoken moments. The latter make the more aggressive parts more meaningful. The lead singer just doesn't bark his head off from beginning to end here, a welcome change from other bands (talented ones, but whose singer might want to take a leaf from La Dispute's book).
The album is very much lyrics-driven. There's a lot of angst there. Fans will love how complex and original it is, others might find it over-written and too dark (I certainly don't). But despite the importance of the lyrics, it's the music that stands out with utterly original song construction, chord progressions, etc... To top it off, it also SOUNDS greats.
Ok, now that the dissecting is over, let's get down to it: Wildlife is one of the most original bands out of the American scene. It's powerful, moving, could be reminiscent of a rock version of Eminem. An absolutely effing brilliant album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2011
This is an album that needs to be listened from start to finish as the order of the songs makes it such a special album, everthing about this album is brilliant.
Lyrically it is poetic (without being naff), each song is a story beautifully described. The singer tackles issues such as cancer, religion, social deprivation, crime, familly relationships and mental illness in a sensitive an intelligent way without being over sentimental.
Musically it is tight, the bass and drums drive each song and no instruments overwhelm the music, there are also some great bits of percussion and it even sounds like a bit of brass section on 'A Letter'. The vocals are clear, you can hear every last word, and the singer and yells when it is appropriate to the lyrics of the song. The production has a real live sound about it which I like, but doesn't sound raw.
There are many outstanding moments on this brilliant album, 'King Park' being my personal favourite, but also 'The Most Beautiful Bitter Fruit', 'St. Paul Missionary Baptist Church Blues', 'I See Everthing' and 'Safer in the Forest' are also amazing.
Don't expect a heavy noisy album with this offering, this is an album to listen and appreciate. I've played this album to friends who are not really mad on ardcore music and they also fully appreciate it.
To compare it to other bands it is in the same scene as Defeater and Pianos Become the Teeth, but is also inspired by Fugazi and Henry Rollins.
Just go and buy it, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
This album is amazing, i can't beleive it's taken me this long to find these guys! Got hold of the CD and was then luckily enough to see them play live at Download this year which was pretty incredible. Beautiful melodies, emotional lyrics that really make you think deep,totally underated band altogether.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Brilliant album, really energetic performances and lyrical masterpiece. If you like bands like touché amore and Thursday then this album is right up your street.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Very quick very happy 5*****
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£7.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)