Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Ben-Hur [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [1959] [Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 May 2013
I won't review the film because everyone will be familiar with this all time classic. People will want to know about the quality of the Blu-ray disc. It is every bit as good as one could hope for or expect. Both sound and vision are excellent. No one should be disappointed in this worthy addition to their film collection.
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
I found it very moving to hear Heston, at the end of his life, revoicing his most famous role in this animated film. Theres even a lovely introduction from Heston himself, sitting in an armchair holding a copy of the Ben Hur book...lovely touch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Nice film suitable for the tots they love it cutts a long film down to size and keeps the story in tact
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Adore this film. Blue ray fantastic. Still as good if not better after all these years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
This copy of such an epic film is first class , both sound and vision is excellent , you would have though it was only made yesterday , if only all restorations on bluray were as good as this one , there would be no problems .
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Stunning picture and audio, I can recommend this edition to any fan of Charlton Heston, Ben Hur or all the Costume-dramas of the era.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
We got this for my 6 year old daughter as we were going to see the Ben Hur Live production at the 02 and we thought it would enhance her enjoyment of that if she knew the story. It certainly did that!

This dvd is introduced by and narrated by Charlton Heston and tells the story wonderfully. My daughter fully understood everything that happened and as she is at the age where she is interested in Jesus too, this helped link in to what she has learnt at sunday school.

She has watched this movie many times over now and still enjoys it. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 October 2015
Anno Domini: the seventh year of Augustus Caesar's reign. In the Roman province of Judea, Jews return to the city of their birth for the census. A bright star in the night over Bethlehem marks the birth of Jesus Christ. Years later, Roman commander Messala (Stephen Boyd), who was brought up in Judea, takes command of the Roman garrison in Jerusalem. His Jewish boyhood friend Judah Ben-Hur (Charlton Heston) greets him. Messala is delighted. But when Judah refuses to name Jewish patriots, Messala sentences him to the slave galleys and imprisons his mother, Miriam (Martha Scott), and sister, Tirzah (Cathy O'Donnell). Judah vows revenge. In BEN-HUR, William Wyler's much-lauded epic, the story of Judah's search for his mother and sister and his quest for revenge intersects with crucial biblical events such as the Sermon on the Mount and the crucifixion. Wyler gets fine performances from Heston, Boyd, Jack Hawkins (as a Roman admiral who befriends Judah), and Hugh Griffith (as an Arab sheik who dreams of racing his beautiful white horses against Messala). Among BEN-HUR's vivid dramatic sequences are a violent sea battle and the famous chariot race that pits Judah against Messala in one of cinema's great action sequences.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
I have now purchased 8 of these in the series and highly recommend them for children from 5yrs upwards. It will enhance what children learn in Sunday/Sabbath school. Adults will enjoy them too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
As the title says this is an outstanding film and an outstanding blu-ray transfer. That in short is all you really need to know.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)