Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 November 2017
Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
I did enjoy this book but not as much as the first book. I particularly liked the stories from when Brenda had spent time with each new mother. She certainly sounds like Mary Poppins working magic.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This book is a very honest description of life in the period after the second world war. The love just shouts on every page.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
This is a pleasant easy read book, that takes a slow walk through the life of a Norland Nanny. I found it a little dull and repetitive in places, but it did contain some nice recipes, including instructions on how to make your own butter!
I doubt if I will read it again, but it did give an insight into what it meant to be a private Nanny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
This was a very interesting book about looking after other peoples children, and how they were trained. It reminded me of the Midwives series on television. I would recommend it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I bought this book because I had read Brenda Ashford's first book (A Spoonful of Sugar). Although I did enjoy it I much preferred her earlier book. I found this one went over old ground; but I suppose if you hadn't read the first one that might not have been so annoying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
A collection of some nice stories, a bit like chatting with my nan. I felt I had enough halfway through during to the largely repetitious nature of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
It was repetitive and overly sentimental. Some of the historical information was interesting, but not worth the trouble of reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Mum was very happy with this book :)

She's not a great reader so for her to start it & keep on till the end speaks volumes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Preferred Brenda's first book, but this one's still enjoyable in many places. Her values and dedication are worthy of high praise but just felt this fact was a bit over-egged with all the glowing customer references put into the main read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)