Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Christmas with Elvis Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Captain James Cook
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£8.99


on 25 July 2017
Excellent well written book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Very goood copy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
Excellent account of Cook's life and voyages of discovery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
This was not a heavy read, it was a fabulous, interesting read. I learnt a lot about both the subject and the times. Like any good book I was very sorry to reach the end, it was like saying goodbye to a friend, no doubt one I will be picking up again and again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
I was prompted to read the book prior to a planned visit to Whitby and the Cook Memorial Museum. The book has absorbed my life for several weeks. It is a masterly presentation of Cooks amazing life and the nautical experiences of these intrepid explorers. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good adventure yarn interlaced with a fascinating account of life at sea and the personal relationships of the real life characters involved. It is a good example of facts producing an experience much richer than any writer of fiction could create however imaginative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 May 2002
I was prompted to buy this book after reading 'Endeavour' by Peter Aughton (available from amazon.co.uk) which painted a completely different picture of Cook to what I imagined. After reading 'Captain James Cook' I now realise how the misconception arose - on his last and most famous voyage, he presents a Mr.Hyde personality, completely out of keeping with his previous Dr.Jekyll style of running his ship and dealing with the natives he meets - little wonder the Hawaiians took revenge (in the worst possible way). Interesting too, is the side-study of Bligh, who was already showing signs of despotism and seems to have fostered Cook's decline into cruelty, autocratic rule over his crew and excessively harsh treatment of the natives.
The author poses the possibility that a medical condition precipitated this sudden change of character, but it may also have been early senility, Altzheimer's or dementia brought on by stress - who knows?
The book is full of interesting clips from various people's logs, which show other views of life under Cook's leadership. The main thrust of the book is not that Cook was in the right place at the right time, but that he made such a consummate job of ensuring that the surveys were carried out in a methodical manner, with a healthy crew and sound ship. After all, it was HIS decision on what type of ship to use, what food to keep the crew healthy, how to deal with the natives and his diplomacy that ensured that the first 2 voyages were such a resounding success.
All this is in sharp contrast to the last voyage, where he allowed the shipyard to take liberties with the refitting of his ships, the lack of diplomacy, his cruelty to the natives and his lack of patience with his crew. This only serves to reinforce what an extraordinary leader he had been.
A splendid read which has furthered my interest in history and exploration - more like this please!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 November 2002
I was prompted to buy this book after reading 'Endeavour' by Peter Aughton ... which painted a completely different picture of Cook to what I imagined. After reading 'Captain James Cook' I now realise how the misconception arose - on his last and most famous voyage, he presents a Mr.Hyde personality, completely out of keeping with his previous Dr.Jekyll style of running his ship and dealing with the natives he meets - little wonder the Hawaiians took revenge (in the worst possible way). Interesting too, is the side-study of Bligh, who was already showing signs of despotism and seems to have fostered Cook's decline into cruelty, autocratic rule over his crew and excessively harsh treatment of the natives.
The author poses the possibility that a medical condition precipitated this sudden change of character, but it may also have been early senility, Altzheimer's or dementia brought on by stress - who knows?
The book is full of interesting clips from various people's logs, which show other views of life under Cook's leadership. The main thrust of the book is not that Cook was in the right place at the right time, but that he made such a consummate job of ensuring that the surveys were carried out in a methodical manner, with a healthy crew and sound ship. After all, it was HIS decision on what type of ship to use, what food to keep the crew healthy, how to deal with the natives and his diplomacy that ensured that the first 2 voyages were such a resounding success.
All this is in sharp contrast to the last voyage, where he allowed the shipyard to take liberties with the refitting of his ships, the lack of diplomacy, his cruelty to the natives and his lack of patience with his crew. This only serves to reinforce what an extraordinary leader he had been.
A splendid read which has furthered my interest in history and exploration - more like this please! *****
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
For anyone interested in Capt Cook and his travels, this is the book to read. A treasure trove of information, bringing him and his crews to life. I`d just visited the Society Islands, NZ and Hawaii - this book brought it all back. Great read. Thoroughly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
The best biography of Cook yet written.
Very comprehensive, and a book that once you start, you will not put down.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)