Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 12 March 2017
An entertaining and intriguing film worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2017
Great copy!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
in this film a priest linking the Egyptian god Osiris to god makes a circle on the floor where his wife ,eldest daughter younger son give blood not knowing they are to be crucified that night,so out of fright the you boy hides the baby brother to save its life as his sister mother and then he are killed and crucified,even the priest trying to crucify himself,as the years go by a teenage boy receives a phone call from a solicitor telling him,he has been left a house and barn and 150 acres of land for farming,so the curiouse boy goes to stay,then while there a squatter gets in and she and he get talking as the house is to be sold the next day,now the ghosts of his real family come back to haunt him to finish the ritual, can he survive,,,,a great film get it and see
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
The film opens with a biblical Osiris human sacrifice gone bad as an infant survives. Family Man crucifies himself with nails from his well stock garage or barn in this case. Johnny Petrie (Jesse James) the surviving infant was raised my Carrie's mom (Geraldine Hughes) wannabe. At 18 he inherits a farm and discovers his secret past as well as Emma (Magda Apanowicz) squatting in his Maine home, next to Stephen King's place, eventually playing something that sounds like Trent Reznor. Johnny wakes something up.

The original incident took place about 1995, while the home looked like it was set in the 1970's. The actual farm is in Canterbury, Connecticut and not Maine. The mixing of religions was odd, but using a Horus Eye for an Osiris rite was all wrong, may Crowley have mercy on your soul. The production had a made-for-TV quality to it for much of the pace which I saw better than some alternatives.

There are no "zombies" per se in the film, just possessed people who come back from the dead for a bit.

Guide: No swearing or nudity. Implied sex. Only self crucifixion scene I can recall ever in a film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 April 2014
Dead Souls has a vaguely promising premise: a baby born into an isolated family with their own religious cult escapes sacrifice and then, in his late teens, inherits the house in which the massacre happened.

Unfortunately, all promise ends there. The plot becomes largely nonsensical very early on. There are very few actual scares. A pointless love interest in the form of an irritating runaway girl is introduced. The acting is terrible, the script is worse, there is absolutely no atmosphere at all, and it's impossible to make any emotional investment in the characters. I only paid about three quid for this, but it wasn't even worth that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
Not too bad, it's another take on religious murders involving a family. The take on it is different, although I have seen a few dozen ghost movies involving family murders, the survivor returning home and awakening the spirits. This is just from a different angle religiously. Aside from the religious angle, there isn't anything spectacularly unique. No scene sticks out in my mind as brilliant. Having said that, I am an avid horror movie junkie, I have around 400-500 horror films, have seen well over a thousand. So, not many films strike me as original.

Good pacing, nice atmosphere, not vad acting. It isn't a scary film, not particularly tense. Doesn't get you thinking afterwards. It is good for a cold rainy night, bit of entertainment. I think I would have enjoyed it more had I not seen so many films with similar plots. I would recommend to the new horror movie fans, not so much to the seasoned fanatics.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
This is a good film. Okay its not brilliant, and doesn't scare really, as not all the acting is convincing, but the story is told well and keeps you interested, another good sunday afternoon movie. Not that original, but is enjoyable and worth a look.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Should call it "dead boring" , why cant they just make a good horror these days !!! Avoid at all costs
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2017
Johnny, who has just turned 18, receives a letter advising him he has inherited his family's large property. This is all a big shock for Johnny as his adoptive mother, who has her own problems, has never shared with Johnny the tragic story of his family, or even that he was adopted. Johnny visits the property and unlocks a secret that has been hiding for the last 17 years.

Does this sound original and exciting? No? Well you would be right. This is just another mild horror film which doesn't do anything new. There is nothing really bad here - the acting is good, the pacing is OK but it's just bland. Probably a bit long and it would have benefited with more judicious editing.

The DVD cover has been completed carelessly. It says that the disk is Region 0 when it is Region 2 locked, and it says the soundtrack is Dolby Stereo when in fact it is Dolby Surround 5.1. Also, I'm not sure whether the '18' rating is accurate either. I might be a bit jaded but felt that it was more like a '15' rating as there isn't anything overly shocking on display, and the cover says '18' but the space that normally tells you why is blank. Not very helpful......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 November 2014
Goodness me this was rubbish. Awful story, lamentable acting, I don't think there was a single deviation in emotion or expression whatever the scenario from any of the cast. Every event was met with the same dumb bewildered faraway look.
There's no scares here; no thrills, no innovation, no interest. Every other scene featured the same thing, person in foreground gazing into space whilst in the background there's a flash of a person walking past across the screen, or a shadow falling near them. No worries though, the two leads were too dumb to notice; this was just a respun and rehashed treat for the viewer.
An okay beginning to establish the story before descending into a boring mess. Some violence but it's still mystifying how it's an 18 cert.. No extras on the disc to stay consistent with the no substance approach to film making
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)